Garbage was flowing down Louisiana waterways. These trap-like devices caught 2 tons of it.

in #nature3 years ago

image.png

“These waterways all connect down on the swamp,” said Kim Coates, a Ponchatoula-area member of the parish council. “Growing up, the litter down there was just unreal. I’ve known it all my life.”

Interesting article about a new way of collecting trash and litter from the waterways of South Louisiana. I'm glad to see this as few things bug me more than to see trash in nature. The lack of pride that people must have to just throw their trash on the ground is something that I can never understand. The good news that things like this can make a difference, but as we all know people make the biggest difference.

Read the full story here....
https://www.theadvocate.com/baton_rouge/news/environment/article_f7655cd0-4beb-11ec-a66e-cf88d10bcbff.html

Sort:  

I wonder how much trash they would get if they put it across the whole Mississippi River, lol

Two tons?!? Think about it; a lot of the trash is things like plastic water bottles that weigh almost nothing.

I never thought about it that way, so true!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 62427.05
ETH 2721.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56