The lurker

in #nature6 years ago

stink bug.jpg

Stink bugs are among my least favourite insects, I find the smell they give off to be truly repellent. Considering that its their main form of defense, after camouflage, it's highly effective. This one has particularly interesting patterns although it was difficult to photograph, bugs like these are very aware of their surroundings and it kept moving away from the camera. Bugs like these are quite a pest in the garden as they are sap suckers and can easily transmit diseases between plants but I can't even bring myself to squash these creatures, I find their smell so offputting

Here, Toffee the cat is investigating a stinkbug on the paving. He's obviously learned the hard way to leave them alone because just one sniff and he was making nauseated movements with his mouth, it was quite amusing to see his reaction, he dislikes them as much as I do.
Toffee and stinkbug.jpg

Sort:  

Wow!!!
I have not seen such beetles.
And for the first time I know that they can be smelly ... :-)
The reaction of the cat is also interesting!

My cat reacts like that to shrimps :p Hilarious view!
I never seen one so black. They are mostly brownish or light grey. Quite pretty must say. And I never felt the stink yet ;).

All I can say is I agree with you 100%! P.U. 🐓🐓

:)
The same I feel about these bugs. And my cat too.
I'm really careful not to touch it. I feel like throwing up of their smell.
Here we call it 'smrdljivi Martin' = stink/smelly Martin (Martin is also a name for humans).
It is the same colored as in yours photos or can be pure green too.

We also have green ones. I wonder why the name of Martin in particular ;)

Now you made me wonder too. I was thinking a little bit, and the only thing that came to my mind is that it has to have some connection with Martinje (that is, traditionally in Croatia, a day (in the autumn) of vine celebrating / when most of the people get drunked./ That day is called Martinje towards the Christian saint Martin, who was the patron of the vineyard). Then I searched the net, and yes, it has to do with Martinje. In those days, this bug, more often than usually, is coming into the houses, so they gave it such a name.

Interesting story behind the name!

Hahaha, like mother like son! Thats funny, I agree the smell of these are pretty bad.😁

My absolute worst!

hehehe poor Toffee. The smell would have been 10 times worse for him

For sure!

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-06-17T16:55:33
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 81.40/100.00
Total Photos: 12
Total comments: 14
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

I had never seen this insect.

The first time I see such a large creature that destroys the wood. It looks rather strange. At first I thought it was a snake.

I was in a situation to investigate my cheating husband. Thanks to [email protected] that helped me hacked his whatsapp account and i was able to see he was truly cheating on me. The hacker really helped me. Are you looking for the best hacker in town , look no further and let [email protected] help you catch your cheating spouse red handed, He is the best and i recommend him to everyone.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63156.23
ETH 2560.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83