PALM OIL AND YOUR LIFE #CHAPTER 1

in #nature7 years ago

20170202_104401.jpg

On my first introduction I said that I live in a country with a thousand islands. I will try to recount my journey while on once little part of the islands in my country, it's called Sumatra Island. When I was invited to roam in oil palm plantations, I had many daydreams. I just want to convey my imagination, what if we become oil palm. Turning on a dead object can be done in a newspaper, isn't it? Why I choosen palm oil? Because of palm oil has longer life. And sometimes we've hope to have a longer life don't you? This is where you come in. Knowledge is power when it comes to understanding how palm oil effects not only your life, but the lives of people and animals all across the world.

It is important to know about the life of the oil palm. If you know all about the life of the oil palm, you will understand better how to cultivate them. If you do not take care of the seeds, they will germinate only after several years. Is it similar to our lifestyle as a human being? I said Yes. Why? When we know about ourselves, our desires then we will know how we organize ourselves. Opening up to grow and develop well and reached a stage called mature.

20170202_135117.jpg

He's my father. He tried to explain that the oil palm has no branches. It has a trunk and leaves. The trunk, sometimes called a stipe, is the stem of the palm. At the tip of the stem there is one bud - one only and that is the growing point, which makes the palm oil grow and grow. If the growing point dies, the tree dies as well. It is most important that the point should produce many leaves, because there will be a flower at the base of each leaf. If there are many leaves, there will be many flowers. And if there are many flowers, there will be many clusters of fruit. The oil palm grows well and produces a lot in regions where it is very hot, where the sun is very strong, and where it rains a great deal. We can learn from the oil palm tree, it can grow in difficult situations. On arid soil or hot weather conditions, this tree can still survive.

But currently not a universe that pose a threat to oil palm plantations, humans are a major threat. Humans have the ambition to plant concrete and turn many planters into functional buildings. As happened on my island, the island of Sumatra. Displacement of indigenous peoples, deforestation and loss of biodiversity are all consequences of our palm oil consumption. Reducing plantation land makes cosmic inequalities present. As a result, many animals that depend on their survival on plantations lose their food supply. In this case, a few times animals like elephants rampaged into a residential area due to lack of food. How could it come to this? And what can we do in everyday life to protect people and nature? I will tell you later on in the next chapter.

Sort:  

I am following you... Good luck! Thanks for go into my blog and voted... I will be always looking for yours posts

hehe thank you @yrecartagena , i had following you back.
let's be friend

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 58476.88
ETH 2522.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34