How to Hold a FrogsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #nature7 years ago (edited)


I am quite the herpetology (amphibians and reptiles) freak, and I enjoy spreading my passion to others. This summer, I worked with 2 species of birds, which although are technically herps, do not usually elicit the same response as do their slimy or slithering cousins.
During my work on Lake Sakakawea this summer, I saw Woodhouse's Toads and Leopard Frogs in abundance. One of my favorite things to do was to give the frogs and toads to my boss and coworkers, especially if they'd never held one before. The grins grew wider the more times they held them!


This is how you hold a metamorph

This is how you hold Woodhouse's Toads

This is how you hold Leopard Frogs

This is how you hold a very small Woodhouse's Toad

This is how you hold a Leopard Frog on the beach

This is how my sister-in-law holds a Leopard Frog

This is how I look when I'm holding herps

Have you ever held a frog or toad? If so, how do you hold it?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67232.91
ETH 3240.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64