Calendula Soap

in #nature6 years ago (edited)

My previous post was about 'Dabai in soap making'.

Dabai is an exotic fruit from the Borneo island. A lot of Steemians expressed with surprise that fruits can be made into soap. Yes, that’s right! Literally every plant material with positive skin benefits can be used in soap making.

Today, I will explore the use of calendula flower in soap.
Calendula Flower.jpg
Photo Credit
Calendula Soap 100g.JPG

Where They Grow
Calendula, also known as pot marigold grows in Southwestern Asia, Western Europe and the Mediterranean.

Species
Calendula is in the family of Asteraceae, where daisy and sunflower belong to. The scientific name of calendula is Calendula Officinalis.

Skin Benefits

  1. Anti-inflammatory - Calendula, rich in flavonoids antioxidant, protects skin from free radical damage and heals inflammatory skin condition, such as diaper rash and dermatitis.

  2. Moisturizing — Calendula is a great moisturizer for dry and sensitive skin. It helps soothe the area and reduce irritation.

  3. Heal wounds - The antiseptic and antimicrobial characteristic of the herb has been shown to help wounds heal faster, such as acne-prone skin.

Due to all the wonderful benefits which calendula can offer, I decided to make a batch of 'craft-series' soap with calendula-infused oil. (Limited edition with 63 units only)

First
I infused dried calendula flower in rice bran oil for months.
Calendula Oil infusing.JPG

Second
I strained the herbs for the calendula herbal oil.
Calendula infused oil.jpg

Third
I mix the calendula oil into my natural soap base which contains coconut oil, olive oil, and palm oil. I added a blend of essential oil for extra aromatherapy benefits. After a day, I un-molded my soap and this is how 7KG of calendula soap block looks like!
Calendula Soap Block.jpg

Fourth
I cut the soap into 100g each.
Calendula Soap.jpg

Fifth
They are now curing in my 'soap tower' and will be ready to use after 4 weeks.
Calendula Soap Curing.jpg

Do you have any prior experience in using calendula product? What do you think of this beautiful plant?

If you're interested in anything about nature and craftwork, upvote my post, follow me and drop a comment below!


Follow me @natalielo

Sort:  

Hi @natalielo, this post motivated me again.

I've been trying to find time to do my own shampoo using natural oils and some essential oils, have you try those before or you mainly just focusing on soap?

I'm working on solid shampoo recently. Have been using on my hair for the past three weeks :)

I did my shampoo recently too, I feel good using it !

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62937.86
ETH 3092.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87