Rain brings mushrooms, but landscape stay thirsty.

in #nature7 years ago

The rain of the last weeks made the mushrooms flush. This group of mycelium fruting bodies came out of a tree that I believe is alive. Am I wrong to asume that fungal straints fruit only on dead matter?

mushrooms_edit.jpg

Portugal was heavily burned by wildfires this summer, as it was stroke by a very strong drought of more than 6 months combined with extremely high temperatures. The seasonal winter runnels in our village and the villages arround are still not carrying water, even though they should do so from mid October to mid November on, as we live in a quite humid micro climate... Everything in nature is still very thirsty, but it feels good to see nature make first use of the fresh water with thousands of mushrooms heads popping out everywhere.

Sort:  

My goodness. That’s beautiful!

Oh my, I haven't eaten mushrooms in years. It's gone in extinction in my area. I wish I can pluck some from this photo.
Beautiful site. Loved picking them as a kid.

Hi @samirich what do you mean they have gone in extinction where you are? Where are you actually at?

Oh so nice mushrooms are these. Good keep it up

Have you thought about foraging mushrooms?
It seems to fit well into your lifestyle. I lived in the middle of nowhere in Portugal for one year and went mushroom hunting in autumn. I was quite surprised how many different species could be found there. I really wasn't expecting that. It's a fun activity for children too, once they're old enough.

Hi @croctopus. I remeber hunting for mushrooms as a child as well, when we went with my dad and my gradfather who knew what to pick and what not. I myself would love to learn. Maybe I should start reading books on it or make a course, or find a local that could teach me. Thank you for your kind answer.

It's an interesting hobby and really rewarding too. Ecologically sustainable too, since the picking of the mushroom does not hurt the mycelium. Buy a good, up-to-date book and try finding out the right species by yourself at first (don't eat them yet). Once you're sure you like it, a course is the best way to go.
There's also the possibility to grow some species yourself in your garden.

I remember finding plenty of chanterelles, black trumpets and armillarias in the Alentejo where I lived. I met some people foraging for truffels with dogs and pigs as well. ;-)

I might do some content on mushrooms next season, if I can find time for it.
Best of luck!

Very interesting @croctopus. I guess I will keep my eyes open for a course in the region.. Where are you actually from and what brought you to Portugals Alentejo in the past?

That's a good idea! I'm from Germany but I went to Portugal to go WWOOFing:
https://wwoofinternational.org/
I met lots of interesting people and could check out different lifestyles. If you have a place to spare where you can accommodate people and you need some helping hands in developing your permaculture, you could think about becoming a host. :)
My experiences with them were mostly positive and I remember my time in Portugal quite fondly.

I'm also from Germany and I live here already for about 2 years. It was a good decision to come over. I've heard of WWOOFing. The Permaculture Farm we do most of our shopping have WWOOfers over every now and then. I need to think about it. Having changing people living in the family is somethign you have to commit yourself too.

That's true, you have to feel confident it's the right choice. It's just an option, you do what feels right for you. :)
Best of luck in your lifestyle whichever way you decide to go. I'll keep an eye on your posts.

Today I also took pictures of mushrooms. Note that Portugal is still recovering from all the fires, but as you said it is beautiful to see that nature is making good use of the first rains.
I give you a upvote for this nice post.
Cheers!!

Of course Portugal is still recovering @jessica.amado. I hope you did not misunderstand me. That's what I tried to say be "the landscape stays thursty". The drought is not over, even if it is rainig in winter...

Wow a 6 month drought. That is happening in large parts of the US too. Glad you got some rains at least!

Mushrooms are such welcome dudes in the landscape. It always makes me happy to see them.

We're bone dry over here too, but no mushrooms. I envy your flush

Hi @ligayagardener. You're in Australia, right? Our drought luckily found an end in mid Oktober, where heavy rain put of all fires in the whole country. Ever since it has been raining sporadically and also heavily at times, yet as I said no water in the seasonal runnels... If you're in Australia your in the hight of summer st the moment, right? hope you will be receiving a strong summer gush soon!

Nice #walkwithme! You're a really fun gi :)

Haha! Welcome @lyndsaybowes

Hey @lyndsaybowes. Did you see my latest post on the mycelium web on our land? I thought you might be interested.

We also love to forage mushrooms, the kids especially enjoy it! You gave me an idea what photo to post next, while the kids are sleeping :)

I saw the post. Wonderful picture you have dear @bghandmade.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59228.82
ETH 2524.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52