Macro Fungi of ArkansassteemCreated with Sketch.

in #nature7 years ago (edited)

IMG_4526.JPG

As an Arkansas native, I was fortunate to grow up surrounded by all of the magnificence nature has to offer. Especially when it comes to mushrooms, for which Arkansas' temperate clime is particularly suited. The mushroom's natural habitat is also well-suited to my pulmonary hypertension, as they're typically found away from direct sunlight, beneath the shade of forest canopies. As a result, "mushroom walks" became a staple of my own child's outdoor education.

Here, a sampling of some of our finds (perhaps to be edited later to include taxonomy, if anyone is interested. Let me know in the comments!

IMG_4527.JPG
Snail and adolescent fungi on backyard compost

IMG_4531.JPG

IMG_4534.JPG
Russula in the grass

IMG_6465.JPG

IMG_5909.JPG

Thanks for checking out a tiny selection of my fungus photos!

If you follow me, please leave a comment so I can follow back!

Sort:  

Beautiful photos. I live in Arkansas to. Love to go pick morel mushrooms. My son says its like a Easter egg hunt.

Awesome fungi you have there, nice finds.

I have some land in Arkansas. I need to take a walk around and check for some fungii. When is the best time of year to check?

Fall and Spring. Depending on where your land is, you'll find different species. These were all in central Arkansas, but my favorite mushrooming experiences have been in the Ozarks. Thanks for reading:)

oh wow! That's something new. I haven't seen it before.

I have been to Arkansas just for once. Is this grow in summer?

Arkansas' mushroom season is year 'round, but fall and spring are the best time for hunting. Certain things don't flush (fruit, in regular gardening terms) every year, depending on the conditions.

Oh nice.
Im sure you will take few more picture and share here.

Those are beautiful way to kick off the #mycology campaign! :)

It's great to have that knowledge. What's your favourite to eat? To find? What is the most valuable one?

Morel mushrooms are the big thing as far as wild mushrooms in Arkansas go. I've cultivated shiitake mushrooms on logs from spawn that I ordered in the mail, and I can safely harvest wild oyster and chanterelles with 100% certainty (and if you can't achieve that level of confidence, you should never ever ever eat a wild mushroom).

Nice! My two brothers cultivated shiitake mushrooms in British Columbia. I live in Switzerland and here you can take your mushrooms to get them verified! Keep up the great work @mtgmisfit!

What's mtg and why are you a misfit? You seem to fit in quite nicely here!

Europe is way more foraging friendly, I hear. It helps that generations have passed down knowledge and cooking with wild mushrooms is still done there. Americans are taught that everything is a deadly toadstool!

MtG is Magic: the Gathering, a collectible card game that I play competitively. The Misfit thing is a reference to a punk band and the fact that I've always been socially awkward and had weird hobbies

Weird hobbies....weird is good! Socially awkward......aspergers? In any case you're doing great here? All the best to you!

The autism spectrum wasn't really a thing yet when I was a kid, or most of the people I relate well to would probably be diagnosed with Asperger's, to be honest. Asperger's is actually pretty prevalent in the Magic community.

While I'm in the IQ range of many functional autists, my social awkwardness is most likely a symptom of my ADHD. I don't mind it as much as other people do, and I'm more than happy to be "weird"...which is probably the hallmark of being a misfit :)

interesting!

Hi,i found you on friendtrain and am now following and upvoting you -David

Thanks! I followed you back!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.033
BTC 64182.74
ETH 2768.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66