NEW TRIP REPORT! Jôf di Montasio - hiking, climbing - Julian Alps

in #nature7 years ago (edited)

Hello dear Steemians :)

Last year I drove to Italy to go hiking on the second highest mountain in Julian Alps - Jof di Montasio ( 2,752 m or 9,029 ft ) - Slovene: Montaž.
IMG_3757.JPG

My starting point was Pecol mountain pasture at 1,510 m or 4,954 ft. It was 7 AM when I finally put on my hiking boots after 2,5 hour drive.
IMG_3672.JPGIMG_3678.JPG

From the parking lot I started hiking towards the Forca dei Disteis saddle. For the first hour the path lead me through fields below the Montaž.
When the path begins to climb more steeply on my way showed Capricorn and walked in front of me to the Forca dei Disteis saddle.
IMG_3685.JPG

On the saddle I turned right towards the Pipan ladder. The path finally became more interesting and soon some climbing is required. On some points you can help yourself with steel ropes and pegs.
IMG_3694.JPG
IMG_3699.JPGIMG_3700.JPG
This is where the fun part begins. A couple of pegs and steel rope leads you up a vertical slope to Pipan ladder. Then I had to climb 60 m near vertical steel ladder.
IMG_3707.JPG
IMG_3750.JPG
IMG_3740.JPG
The most exciting part was behind me. After that I had about 15 minutes of hiking to the top of Montaž over the exposed crest. On some points rocks were very crumbly so I had to be very careful to not to start any rock tumbling.
IMG_3725.JPG
IMG_3733.JPG
IMG_3724.JPG
IMG_3723.JPG
View from the top was exquisite that day. I spent about 1,5 hour alone on the top and chill in absolute silence.
IMG_3718.JPG
IMG_3755.JPG

Hope you guys enjoyed this trip report!

Have a nice day :)

Peace!

Sort:  

Nice photos, man! That cloud inversion shot is really cool -- I've only been up in an inversion a couple times, it's always a lot of fun. :)

Thanks man :)
Yes it's really fun to see this. I love watching clouds below me and smile to the people in the valleys who don't have sun like me on the top :D

simply majestic. I love the photos

Honestly ... i am not sure if I am man enough to climb that ladder. Looks scary as hell. Is this the only way up? Or can you go around it?

It's not the only way up but 2 guys that I met this day said other path is even more scary because there isn't enough pegs and steel ropes.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59653.51
ETH 2353.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47