The Fun is in the Hunt👓

in #nature7 years ago

We are treasure hunters the chickens and myself. Working tirelessly to find a hidden treasure buried under the leaves. Here I make a sharp contrast and comparison between chicken findings and my own form of crypto currency.

Like the girls it is my absolute favorite thing to do. No doubt born an archeologist in a previous life. I love to hunt for flakes or points as they refer to them here in Florida.

Many ancient tribes lived on this continent before we came to inhabit it. We have found musket balls old military buttons. Many many flakes of arrow heads and scrapers. Yet never have I found a whole piece. So the search continues.

IMG_0629.JPG
Flakes found after a rain just today

After a heavy rainfall is the best time to look. Many a native Indian would sit in a cool spot and chip away at a sharp rock until he produced just the right tool for either skinning, scraping, or killing his prey. We have seen fine collections from farmers after plowing a field finding spear heads and very defined arrow heads. They are true gifts from the earth.

Many date back to the paleo people which would have been thousands of years ago. Sometimes the hunt turns up pieces of pottery. Depending on the age one might find a basket weave pattern or a type of hemp like pattern that was used to fire the vessel.

If you have ever looked for sharks teeth or old shells then you know how rewarding it can be to get lost in the moment of treasure hunting. 🐓🐓

Sort:  

Awesome!!!!

I love seeing stuff like this.

Hey man, I continue to be impressed by your work!

#Community building @mother2chicks

Thanks for stopping by. 🐓🐓

I search for these all the time! My friends have a farm and there are times I search the fields all day!

It is a great form of relaxation. Glad you stopped by. 🐓🐓

Oh I wish someone could make a video of you turning over the leaves and the girls following right along digging in with you.

What a sight that would be. At least you are both searching for different treasures, or do you fight them for the best worms and grubs and bugs?

You know I need a videographer, the pay is low but the benefits are good.

The chickens are teaching me to scratch..scratch twice, look down then cock head to side. Repeat🐓

GREAT JOB OPPORTUNITY!

CONSTANT ENTERTAINMENT!

IS ANYONE HEARING THIS?

PASS THIS ON TO ANYONE YOU KNOW WHO IS LOOKING FOR A UNIQUE videographer OPPORTUNITY!

Free eggs in your bonus package.

Haha you are a hoot bchick. Free eggs as a bonus! 🐓

How fun is this! I love finding stuff in the fields too! Here we have a lot of fossilized shells and sometimes even teeth! There are also areas with big stones with smooth holes in them where the tribes used to grind their acorn meal in. 🐣
Hope you're having a lovely day!

That's quite a collection. It's so cool that the items span such a large variation of eras!

There are many layers of the past yet to be uncovered, I just love the hunt and learn so many things about history. I always research my findings and the area, it just kinda goes from there. Thank you for stopping by aunt-deb🐓

We all seem to be friends here so let me ask
Your own form of crypto currency

These bits of found broken shards?

This has as much value as crypto currency?

Okay we should keep this a secret.

They have a unique sound rather like money clinking in your pocket as you walk. It is our little secret we better plan on eating less.😉🐓

The value of these pieces of stone, is the enjoyment of the hunt, rewarded by the discovery and then the many thoughts the mind will conjure up. How, where, when and why.
I wasn't aware that flint like stone was local to Florida. For who knows how long, tool making stone was a very valuable commodity, traded across North America, so yes I must agree crypto currency in a sense..........billytwohearts

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 59926.69
ETH 2622.88
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38