Time Lapse of Cactus Flowers OpeningsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #nature7 years ago (edited)

This was my first attempt at doing a time-lapse of flowers opening. The cactus is, I believe, Echinopsis schickendantzii. I learned a lot along the way like making sure I have a spare battery charged up :-) If you are not into flowers then you may enjoy watching the caterpillar. I didn't notice it until I watched the video :-)

As you know, it's hard starting from scratch on Steemit, so, if you liked this, please consider upvoting, commenting , following or resteeming. Thank you!

HR

Some Recent Posts You May Have Missed

Platypus Out of the Water

Nankeen Night-heron -Adults & an Immature

Blotched Blue-tongue Lizard

Sort:  

This is simply awesome, upvoted and followed!
How long was the footage in real time?

Thanks very much. I don't have the the exact time but about 1 and a half hours. They open as the sun sets and then stay open all night. The next day they wilt.

Oh that's very cool, I thought it would be much longer, looks like something I would want to try to film in the future :)
Thanks for the info!

Definitely worth the effort. You'll enjoy it.

Woww.. they are amazing! My cactus had just 2 flowers. But it was the first time it bloomed. I got it last year in one of those tiny red pots. Pity they don't stay open longer.

And I noticed the caterpillar before I read the description :D

I had more if these. The ones in the ground flowered every year (sometimes twice) while the ones in pots rarely flowered. They did well outside despite our very wet winters. Most cacti just rot if planted outdoors here.
As for the caterpillar, I reckon he was the star of the show 😀

Very beautiful video! I Upvoted and Followed!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61131.06
ETH 2927.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64