Rove Beetles (Three photos)

in #nature7 years ago

Rove beetles, or Staphylinidae, are the largest family among the beetles. They are easy to recognise as their elytra (or wing covers) are quite short and so many of the abdominal segments are revealed. Several of the orange coloured Rove beetles in the first photo have been showing up at my moth light the last few nights. This is quite a small beetle at around 8 to 10 mm in length.

Click on the images to see larger versions
( All photos, videos, and text on this blog are by @mostly.nature)

Staphylinidae MV BY Tas.jpg

Here is another species of Rove beetle. This one was found in my garage back in October. It's larger that the previous one at 20mm.

Insects Coleoptera Staphylinidae 20mm BY Shed 2017-10-31.jpg

This last one is from some years ago. I have a name for this one. It's Creophilus lanio.

Staphylinidae -Creophilus_lanio-BY-3-2007-04-08.jpg

No doubt there are some kind of Rover beetle in your part of the world too. I was going to include some Scottish ones that I photographed way back, however they are not in my photo database so I'll have to wait until I stumble upon them some day.

If you enjoyed this post, please consider upvoting, commenting , following or resteeming. Thank you!

HR


Do Caterpillars Drink?

A Stunning Little Micro Moth

A Strange Creature of the Intertidal Zone

Flat-headed Leafhopper
Sort:  

Great informative write up accompanied by fantastic photos. Still doesn’t change my phobia for bugs like these though! I love the pictures as long as I don’t have to see the bugs in person or on my skin!

Thanks very much. You should be safe from these bugs given that you are likely many miles away :-)

They have these attacking ants in the EMPIRE OF THE UNDERGROWTH...
"The Devil's coach-horse beetle (Ocypus olens) is a species of beetle belonging to the large family of the rove beetles (Staphylinidae)"
Wikipedia

images.jpg

Interesting. I have photographed Ocypus olens but I can't locate it. I'm in the process of putting all my natural history shots in a database so I'll come across it eventually.

Congratulations @mostly.nature! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64916.21
ETH 3483.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45