You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Origins of a New Branch of Science: Plant Neurobiology

in #nature7 years ago

Fascinating subject. There are some who have proposed that the human brain is simply a transmitter/transceiver, that consciousness is not to be found in the physical structure of the brain. Perhaps, plant consciousness is the same. I mean, when you consider that all is energy it is not too odd to think that perhaps intelligence is working through the "energetic body" of all living creatures and that, the energetic body, is connected to an omnipresent ocean of intelligence.

Sort:  

From a spiritual side, I tend to agree with you. I think at some point science will catch up to the idea that energy is more than synapses firing and that intelligence is a flow we immerse ourselves into instead of a result of individual neural networks. I think we are a little far from there today, but a deeper understanding of the awareness and decision making capabilities--i.e. consciousness--of other beings will surely help scientists look to factors outside of brain functions to explain behavior. Exciting times...

I am a very curious person... always willing to learn new things. I mean my favorite gift for my 11th birthday was a subscription to National Geographic. However, I view the world through the eyes of a mystic. "Mystic" is not necessarily the best one word description of my personal experiential filter but is close. I'm a professional astrologer (I did notice your reference to three Signs of course). I communicate with the deceased (so far they have initiated contact). I see visions (these are quite different from dreams or imaginations). I frequently find myself in realms only accessible while in altered states of consciousness (I am discerning however and have checked and rechecked what I "see" or learn with well known scientists or physicists to validate what I experience. Anyway, there is an entire world of energetic reality we don't see or experience in what I call "slow time" (Einstein actually believed energy was "slowed down" so we could experience matter on this level of existence).

I think one day humanity will evolve or move into a state of higher consciousness where life in all its wonder will be experienced from an entirely expanded and different perspective. I get hints from the likes of Tesla, Einstein, Jung, Plank, Stanislav Grof and others that they have accessed these expanded realms. I take heart especially from Jung and Grof who constantly were investigating the infinite, the world of "limitless consciousness". No, I absolutely do not think we will find consciousness or intelligence in the physical composition of a plant, or animal or human for that matter. It would be like looking for an orchestra in your CD player.

Many blessings.

Yes. Exactly. Thats a great quote. I'd love to belong to a community here on Steemit that shared their experiences along these lines. Of course what you are doing certainly qualifies. I think, frankly, that unless we humans find a path to higher consciousness were screwed. But thats another post. Blessings.

I would love to create a community here around topics that bring together science and spirituality. In my experience, the "spirituality" posts tend to be too far on one side. What I love about Damanhur is that it is all about blurring the edges--about using one to define the other, and vice versa.

It's been my experience that in reality the lines between science and spiritual understand are no longer there. It's been absolutely fascinating to come to know how they compliment each other. Yes, some on the spiritual path to own the path rather than share it. Much peace to you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63540.43
ETH 2481.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66