Portraits of my garden friends... Beautiful caterpillars, "invisible" mr. Stick, grasshoppers: lovers & flying ones...

in #nature6 years ago

These days I spent some time in my garden, so I made some new photos (portraits :) of my little friends there... Let me introduce them to you...


SWALLOWTAIL CATERPILLAR:

First I spotted this beautifully coloured swallowtail caterpillar... I found it on Ruta graveolens - commonly known as rue...

20181005_170604 (2).jpg

20181005_170502 (2).jpg

20181005_170518 (2).jpg

20181005_170654 (2).jpg

20181005_170911 (2).jpg

Cool coloured creature :)

This is the second time this year that I found this caterpillar chewing my rue :) A few months ago, I wrote a post about it visiting my garden and there it is again :)

  • Interesting fact: In my country (Croatia) this is one of the most beautiful species of day butterflies and it is protected by the law..

Another interesting caterpillar was there, this one looks like it doesn't like to be touched :) So, I took her with this towel, made a shot and left her where I found it - I bothered a bit :)

20181013_152526.jpg

That's why she holds this protective pose :) Don't know the name of the species, but it looks awesome! I call her brushy :)

MR. STICK:

After taking these photos, I went to pick some mint and there was a surprise too. Check up another cool creature - also don't know the name of this species, this one can be called mr. Stick...

20181005_170748.jpg

Can you see him in the middle of the photo? Pretending to be a stick :) I Love it! He blends so good in his environment that it's really hard to spot this guy... Didn't even see him - until he moved those legs :)

I rarely see this creature, mr. Stick has an ability to be "invisible" - that's his superpower :) So, I'm glad that he revealed himself to me :)


GRASSHOPPERS:

What's a garden without grasshoppers? :)

After meeting with mr. Stick, I moved to the other part of the garden and on my way there, these two were, hm... Love was in the air...

20181005_171534 (2).jpg

Haha, the photo is a bit blurry, but you get the point :) That's all I'm going to say about these two lovers :)

And at the end, I'll show you another grasshopper that we spotted around the house. He lives in my vine and I'm not sure if every day we see the same one, or there are more of them living here :)

20180914_120331 (2).jpg

Miha and I see this guy all summer (or more of them - we don't know :). Every time we remember to look, he is somewhere on the vine, or the string, he just moves around :)

And he also likes to pretend to be "invisible"...

20180914_120340 (2).jpg

We call him Flyer or Biggy :)

I have some interesting garden friends, don't you think? :) Hope you all enjoyed meeting them, they told me to send you their greetings! :)


Enjoy the weekend, everyone, and greetings from me also!!! :)
With Love, mika-ella...


Until next time - stay curious, stay playful, stay connected with Life all-around...




Sort:  

Beautiful photos and lovely craw creature

Thank you! I like to take photos of cool creatures around :)
Nature makes impressive creations...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62915.59
ETH 2542.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63