Fighting fires in the Northwest.

in #nature6 years ago

The fire season is upon us again and I thought I would try to start a little blog about the ones I worked on. With a below average snow pack and the hot and dry temperatures it's looking to be long summer.

1531415952793.jpg

My first warm up for the year was the Hammer Fire. It was discovered June 16th in the Maury Mountains south of Prineville, Oregon. On the Lookout Mountain Ranger District of the Ochoco National Forest. The fire was human-caused, starting from an abandoned warming fire. We contained the fire at 125 acres.

0614181944_HDR.jpg

0614182115_HDR.jpg

My crew worked that fire for 3 days, although it didn't get to big it was a hard fire to work on due to the terrain and dry fuels. I am about a month behind but I will try to blog about the season. We just got home Monday and I leave this afternoon for a new assignment. Till next stay safe.

Sort:  

You stay safe!

Congratulations @meepsy! You received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit

Click here to view your Board of Honor

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @meepsy! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 62772.18
ETH 3032.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67