Little Blue & Tricolored Herons

in #nature7 years ago

Look at this video I got of some herons. I took this video on a foggy morning at The Celery Fields in Sarasota, Florida. There was a large group feeding on some fish in a pond where the water level had dropped. This made it very easy for the birds to catch the fish that were in the pond. They didn't seem to notice me at all. I was about 100 feet away. I do have a great zoom lens for my camera. 

Here is a picture of the Little Blue Heron. When they are younger they are actually white. You can see a few of them in the video above. The little blue doesn't have any long showy plumes, so it mostly escaped the feather hunters in the 1920 looking for cool feathers for their hats. 

Here is the Tri-colored Heron. You can see it has white underparts and a bigger bill. 

They use their wings to scare fish so they can capture them when they see them move. Some people also think that they are shielding their eyes from the sun. 

100% my original work! Copyright 2018 ® Mark Vance Photography


 I am an award winning photographer and filmmaker. Many of my pictures have been used in TV Shows and Feature Films, such as "Zero Dark Thirty", "NCIS Los Angeles" and "The Walking Dead".

Many of my bird pictures and videos have been used by The National Audubon Society and Sarasota Audubon and used on several TV shows.  Enjoy!

Sort:  

Awesome pic, Mark!

Hi Mark, how are you? Sorry if I missed any of your blogs. Am struggling managing my time without the steemvoter, am a little exhausted :( but I can get through this :D

I hope you are doing well.

I really admire your photography. I hope I'll take to learn my new camera I got for Christmas.

By the way, I asked my sister @gerel to check on you, have you met her yet?

Yes, I follow your sister and have given her some upvotes. Does she live near you? Don't worry about when you upvote my posts, you have been very generous and I appreciate it! You are helping so many people, I don't know how you do it. Any plans for traveling anytime soon? I am going to visit my daughter in Oregon in about 12 days.

Great video @markvance! I've never seen so many herons feeding in the same place! Here in Vancouver, the Great Blue Heron's are quite aggressive in protecting their hunting grounds, and they spend quite a bit of time and energy defending them :)

It can take a lot of patience shooting video of herons, but it often pays off :)

Amazing photos, you truly deserve all your titles. You are a photographer from God. Thank you for such wonderful photos.

Great post man very cool....

Wow!Excellent photography.You are really creative photographer. Please stay with photography. how the beautiful natural view is! Very color full also.

wow!nature is a great..i like this birds..thanks for sharing this post..best of luck.

wow, that is one beatuifull bird!
Never seen a Heron before, the best shot is deffinently the one where it stretches its wings!

really interesting sir @markvanc thanks for shareing sir
bautifull picture

its a great vedio...and there some amazing photography.....i impressed to see your post....best of luck brother...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62025.78
ETH 2417.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49