Ever heard of a Limpkin?

in #nature6 years ago

Watch this video I got of a limpkin walking right by me. I don't think he saw me at first. It was very cool to see this bird so close up! In North America this is a very rare bird. It is only seen in Florida and occasionally in southern Georgia. I got this video at The Celery Fields in Sarasota, Florida. People come from all over the world to see this bird here! It mostly eats apple snails that are prevalent at The Celery Fields. They do not migrate. It got it's name because it seems to limp when it walks. It is the only species in its family.

Here is a picture I got of two Limpkins that look like they are attached together. I love the blue water that is behind them, it really makes the brown pop!

Here is what an apple snail looks like.

Here is a picture of a Limpkin I got that was flying.

A good close up!

I love this one. Her is a parent showing her young how to eat an apple snail. The parents help their young for many weeks until they figure out how to find an apple snail and to get the snail out to eat it.

Down the hatch!

The young Limpkin giving it a try.

I have many more pictures I took, but I like these the best!

100% my original work! Except where noted. Copyright 2018 ® Mark Vance Photography

I am an award winning photographer and filmmaker. Many of my pictures have been used in TV Shows and Feature Films, such as "Zero Dark Thirty", "NCIS Los Angeles" and "The Walking Dead".
Many of my bird pictures and videos have been used by The National Audubon Society and Sarasota Audubon and used on several TV shows, like "Animal Outtakes" on ABC. Enjoy!

Sort:  

Great photos as usual, Mark!

I picture you crawling in the mud, dressed as a rock to snap these candid shots.

I see this for first time, wonderful looking

Absolutely beautiful photographs and thanks for giving me the opportunity to learn about the limpkin and also the apple snail

nature ........animal total concept ..
i love it

Beautiful 🐦 bird photography
I appreciate your valuable post
Thanks for sharing animals nature.

Wow..
Looking for this beautiful bird
This photography very beautiful animals.
Thanks for sharing life.

amazing photography
i don't like it but i loved it
wow
#respect your photography

limpkin is my favourite bird.
great photography sir @markvance

Beautiful bird photography sir

You got a 20.82% upvote from @upmewhale courtesy of @markvance!

Earn 100% earning payout by delegating SP to @upmewhale. Visit http://www.upmewhale.com for details!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 66081.13
ETH 3315.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69