Double-crested Cormorants

in #nature6 years ago

Watch this video I got of a huge flock of Double-crested Cormorants. You don't usually see this many Cormorants together in one place. I'm not sure why they all gathered together here by The Celery Fields in Sarasota, Florida. You can tell these are Cormorants as opposed to Anhingas as the Cormorants have a hooked shaped bill. That is the easiest was to tell these two similar birds about, especially from a distance. The Cormorants can be found just about anywhere in North America at time time or another during the year. They do prefer habitats like oceans, lakes, swamps and rivers. They mostly eat fish. They dive under the water to catch the fish.


Here is a picture I got at the Venice, Florida Audubon rookery.

In the picture below you can see the Anhinga has a straight bill and yellowish feet.

Can you tell which one this is?

100% my original work! Except where noted. Copyright 2018 ® Mark Vance Photography

I am an award winning photographer and filmmaker. Many of my pictures have been used in TV Shows and Feature Films, such as "Zero Dark Thirty", "NCIS Los Angeles" and "The Walking Dead".
Many of my bird pictures and videos have been used by The National Audubon Society and Sarasota Audubon and used on several TV shows, like "Animal Outtakes" on ABC. Enjoy!

Sort:  

Good shots. What is the fish they are eating?

I like this Photography

It has beautiful colors, I also like the blue color it has for its eyes

Amazing creature.nicely captured..
Thanks for sharing such beautiful creature.keep enjoying and best of luck...

thanks sir, you always supporting me

This is natural beauty photography.I like this photography.

That's nature very beautiful.
I like animals.

Great shots!

Very nice animals post.
I like animals..
Thanks for sharing this life...

This post has received a 15.73 % upvote from @boomerang.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63209.62
ETH 2570.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.76