Land of Dreams, Mérida, Venezuela - by @manurodriguez

in #nature6 years ago (edited)

If you want to know Venezuela, I could invite you to visit each place in my country, but actually today I'm going to show you one of the most touristic places in here which is Mérida.

Source

Mérida is located in the South-west of Venezuela. It's famous because of its Mountains, which belong to the Andean Mountains better known in Spanish as 'Cordillera de los Andes' which is the longest continental mountain range in the world that pass along Argentina, Chile, Bolivia, Peru, Ecuador, Colombia y Venezuela. However these famous mountains are really peaks which are a big attraction to everybody.


Source

The better known according to me, are Bolívar Peak, Humboldt Peak, Pan de Azúcar Peak, El Toro Peak and Águila Peak. However all of these ones doesn't have an easy access. The only one that you can know easily is the Águila Peak.

Bolívar Peak

This is the highest point in Venezuela with a height of 4978 meters above of the sea's level and it's located in the Sierra Nevada of Merida. You can arrive there by cable car or climbing it. The cable car is one of the most important touristic activities in that city because it was renovated in the latest years. Its name is in honor to the Liberator Simon Bolívar. There is something that you need to know, for arriving at the peak you can do by to ways, one it's easier than the other one, by cable car until Espejo Station then on foot until the peak, the other one is climbing in a long trip the peak (which is usually an activity for experts).


Source

Humboldt Peak

This is the second highest peak in Venezuela with a height of 4940 meters above of the sea's level and it's also located in the Sierra Nevada of Mérida. The summit of this peak is surrounded of glaciers which are the only ones that Venezuela has besides the Bolivar Peak ones.

Source

Pan de Azúcar Peak

This is one of the most common peaks that people use to climb because of its easy access. It is located in the 'Sierra de La Culata' which has a lot of valleys along the ascent.


Source

El Toro Peak

This one is also located in the 'Sierra Nevada' and it has a height of 4755 meters above the sea's level. It's called 'El toro' which in English is The Bull because of its pair of horns.


Source

Águila Peak

This is also called 'Collado del Condor' because it has a monument in there, which is a Andean Condor, in honor to the Liberator who passed across the Andeans in the Colonial ages in order to liberate our country from Spain. This monument was inaugurated the 19th of December in 1927. This is also a landmark because of the highest highway in Venezuela with a height of 4118 meters above the sea's level. You can get out your car and enjoy a really good moment buying some souvenirs from local craftsmen, eating local food or drinking the popular Warm Chocolate.


Source

However, Merida is famous for many places in there that you can visit and those peaks are just one part of the interesting places that you could enjoy. Actually this is an incredible city as many others and definitely I suggest you to come because Venezuela is an amazing country for sightseeing.
Because of these places I say that Merida is a Land of Dreams, you can connect with nature in a really good way, it has a lot of places that I could show you in a next post. Anyway, for me this is a Land of Dreams What do you think?

Although I didn't visit all this peaks I'd like to show you some pictures that I've taken when I've been in this city.

This is a lagoon located near The Aguila Peak, approximately 15 minutes by car.

Laguna de Mucubaji - Mucubaji Lagoon (2013)

20130328_135423.jpg

This is another lagoon which is cover up for vegetation, for this reason is called Laguna tapada.

Laguna Tapada - Tapada Lagoon (2015)

IMG-20151011-WA0023.jpg

The Aguila Peak (2016)

20160321_123627.jpg

Anyway, I hope that you have enjoyed this post, I also hope that it has been useful and funny at the same time. Please if you liked this, vote in here, share it if you want and don't forget say something bellow. If you want to ask something don't be afraid to ask me please. I'd like to show you more about our beautiful country and I'd like to know what you think about Venezuela. Thanks for visiting my post.

Would you like to know more about my country?

Sort:  

Beautiful Photo's, You are fortunate to stay in a wonderful Country that has so much Natural Beauty!
BTW Excellent Post.

WOW, thanks a lot! I'm completely grateful of your comment, I really appreciate your feed back. Venezuela is beautiful, I'll post something about another place soon. Greetings to you. @awgbibb

Great post Manu! I'll be adding "Drink warm chocolate at Águila Peak" to my travel wish list!

Thanks a lot dude! It would be really cool, this is an incredible place for traveling, if you come let me know, I could suggest you good destinations. Good to know that it will be in your travel wish list! @trevorpetrie

It looks absolutely stunning! I just need that Steem price to rise about $30 so i can take a round the world holiday. So many places I'd love to explore but I've hardly left this giant island of mine.

I understand you dude, anyway don't forget to ask me if you can come, Merida is such a beautiful place, I hope that you can do it. You could know all my country with a small quantity of money with your currency.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 61240.20
ETH 3247.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45