#walkwithme * Connetqout * FISH HATCHERY

in #nature6 years ago (edited)

First time for me at Connetquot River State Park. This is a mile walk to the centuries old Fish Hatchery still in use.
DSCN1788.JPG

Refer to prior post for more info. on Connetquot aka Great River, Islip, NY.

https://steemit.com/nature/@manorvillemike/former-south-side-sportsmen-s-club-of-long-island

There are two ways to get to the Hatchery. This old blacktop road or through the woods on the yellow trail. I took the road there and the trail back.

DSCN1789.JPG

DSCN1790.JPG

DSCN1792.JPG
.
This was a 3,400 + acre Sportsmen preserve before becoming a State Park. The river flows through the middle of it. The woods on this side of the river have only regrown since a fire came through in the early 1970's.

Fish Hatchery just up ahead.

DSCN1794.JPG

This is the river flowing towards me and the Hatchery behind me. River canal make a 90% turn, then runs under a road flowing into long rectangular holding areas for the fish. The fish they raise are Brook, Brown and Rainbow Trout.

Check out google map for better all around look. https://www.google.com/maps/@40.7638119,-73.1533742,413m/data=!3m1!1e3

DSCN1797.JPG

DSCN1798.JPG

DSCN1799.JPG

DSCN1801 (2).JPG

DSCN1800.JPG

I ran into the caretaker of the place, Norman. He told me one pool had 8,000 trout in it. After BS-ing for awhile I took a stroll around.

The far pool had the biggest trout I ever seen. Some over two foot. 0.61 meters long. But then again I'm not a fisherman, so I don't know how big they get.

Check these fish out. Reflection makes for bad pictures. Should have taken a video.

DSCN1805.JPG

DSCN1808.JPG

DSCN1809.JPG

These guys were monsters.

DSCN1810.JPG

DSCN1811.JPG

DSCN1814.JPG

DSCN1815.JPG

DSCN1816.JPG

DIVID2ER.jpg

leafy.png

#walkwithme .... was inspired by .... @lyndsaybowes

Sort:  

Trout fish is not very big, but very strong! I was not lucky enough to catch it, but read a lot about fishing in mountain rivers

These are big .....

Wow... such a peaceful looking place. And those are some impressively sized fish, too. I don't know much about trout, but I know there's a fish hatchery not far from us and the fish there are just little tiny fingerlings they scoop up and release in waterways around the peninsula. But I guess every place has its own way fo doing things.

=^..^=

These must be the Mama egg layers. :-)

Nice photos! I love these kinds of places. This reminds me of where my mom lives in Kentucky. I used to run through the woods and mess around in the creeks. I do miss those days!

Those were the days, total freedom. :-)

It looks so peaceful & beautiful.

Very few people here even on a weekend. Even though the 3,000 Acres are surrounded by suburban sprawl of houses.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 57654.82
ETH 2888.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.60