STINK BUGSsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #nature5 years ago (edited)

Have had Stink bugs in my house for a few years now. I trap them in a plastic container and put them outside when I see them. They are Brown Marmorated Stink Bugs that came from Asia to Pennsylvania in 1996 and found their way to eastern Long Island where I live.

DSCN2727 (2).JPG
Here is one on my bathroom faucet, missing one antenna.

DSCN2744.JPG

I have been lucky, I haven't got a whiff of the stink they produce if you crush them. I hear it is horrendous and hard to wash off your hands.

The cats will watch them and I see dead ones around but no smell that would knock my socks off.

DSCN2744 (2).JPG

They do fly and are attracted to my flat screen TV at night.

Good thing is they don't bite and don't carry disease.

More Info .... https://www.longisland.com/news/10-05-13/stink-bugs-invade-long-island.html
source...
longisland.com
patch.com.

stars divider.png

Check out @whatisnew previous post ... https://steemit.com/nature/@whatisnew/brown-marmorated-stink-bug

Sort:  

We get those here. You haven't lived until you try eating mulberries directly off the tree and inadvertently pop on of these in your mouth. True story

Hehe, we have it here in Russia too. Confirm the true story about mulberries =)

Seems like your cats are lazy hunters lol They had to do the job isnt it :P

My cats can do no wrong :-) Good morning dear...

Hhhhh because they are aristocrats not like the other street cats :P

Haven’t seen this insect here yet! They have the right colour, so very difficult to spot!

Posted using Partiko iOS

They are thriving here.

Ugh! We have those stinkbugs here too. They infest the garden and drive me nuts!

Sorry to here that. :-(

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63383.41
ETH 3119.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85