ONE of the MOST BEAUTIFUL SPIDERS /steemCreated with Sketch.

in #nature6 years ago

Was outside today replacing the rotted post on my mailbox, when I came across one of @whatisnew 's friends.

A bright orange spider of significant size.

IMG_5532.JPG

It was a good inch across, maybe longer. I tried looking it up, but don't have the expertise of @whatisnew. Maybe she can help me out with the identification.
The spider was walking on the cement in front of my garage. Which gave it a good contrast.

The best ID I could come up with was a Spotted Orbweaver (Necscona Crucifera).

In one of the web site that identifies spiders, they said it was one of the most beautiful spiders in North America. I would agree, it was striking in color and size.

IMG_5537.JPG

Sort:  

HaHa! One of my friends? LOL! You were close. What you have is a Marbled Orb Weaver Spider. They jump to the ground when they feel threatened. Great photo and I am happy that you were able to see one of these in person. : )

Wow you are good. Must tell me your sources sometime.

LOL! The one I use the most is insectidentification.org

Is that real???😨😨😨

Yes,. ain't it a beauty?

Yeah it took me by surprise. It's a Marbled Orb Weaver Spider. It was much brighter orange. The overcast day didn't do it justice. Happy Thanksgiving.

Wow, he is a pretty Orb spider. Blends right in with fall colors.

Most outstanding spider I've seen.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.031
BTC 61745.50
ETH 2898.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.61