Recharging the Spirit

in #nature7 years ago

I have always been drawn to water. For me, it has rejuevenating properties of my soul, as I am sure it does for many of you as well. Apparently, King David of the Old Testament felt the same way when he wrote the 23rd Psalm:

"He leadeth me beside the still waters, He restoreth my soul".

lakemorning.JPG

This picture was taken a few days ago on a lake in northern Wisconsin. It was a beautiful, quiet morning as we headed off on a small boat to do a little fishing. I am not sure why water has such an affect on me, but it allows me to think clearly and cut through the clutter that accumulates in my mind. Things that seem important to me fade away as the right path is revealed.

Clearing your mind and listening to God speak to you is lost on many of us in this busy world of information overload. There are few places where we can escape the constant barrage of news, twitter, snapchat and all of the rest of the mindless nonsense of today's electronic age. I must admit to being tempted to check the price of Bitcoin, read my feed on Steemit, check investments on Poloniex. But then I would take a deep breath, look around at all of the beautiful things of God's creation, and give thanks for the blessings that we share.

eaglenest.JPG

Look closely at the picture above and you will see a young eagle at its nest. We watched them dive to the water to catch fish, and I marveled at the construction of its massive home high up in the pine. Majestic in flight, we heard their cries and temporarily lost sight of our bobbers as we watched them soar above the treeline in the blue sky.

You don't have to go to a lake to recharge your spirit. Take time each day to be thankful for the many blessings in your life, the very fact that you have been led to this site is no accident, but an opportunity given to you to help others. Together we can accomplish so much, I don't truly believe that any of us has grasped the full understanding of what lies before us with Steemit.

I look forward to our continued journey here together and may the blessings of a quiet spirit clear your path.

Sort:  

Really nice article. Yeah, water is very healing. I like your posts, upvoted and followed.

Thanks, following you as well!

@makecents, that's wonderful. Many thanks.

The eagle and the nest was an amazing register. Daily routines of checking emails, social medias, latest news really seem to be built to distract our minds. I always ponder about how it might have been easier to have lived 30 years ago with not so many distractions than a TV and a radio. But we just have to learn to control our anxieties and understand that contrary to what we think, we don't have or need to check everything we think we have to check as soon as we wake up, for instance. Our mind needs to be our daily priority. The other things can wait.

thanks for checking out the post, upvoted your reply and am following.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61986.23
ETH 3026.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75