Stapelia or Carrion Flowers

in #nature7 years ago

enter image description here
Image Credit

The Stapelia gets it's common name, carrion flower, from the smell that the flowers put off, they literally smell like rotting flesh, this is because they use flies and beetles to pollinate their flowers.

Closeup of the stems growing a small flower on the right side.
enter image description here
Image Credit

They are succulent plants where most species are found in south Africa but there are a few found in Africa, Central America and Asia. They grow in warm, dry climates in full sunlight. They are good to keep as pot plants or as plants for a rock garden with good water drainage. If they get too much water as pot plants, in the garden or in the wild, the stems start to rot. I kept a few but when it rained for a few weeks, the stems rotted and I lost a lot of them.

enter image description here
Image Credit

The seeds form inside big pods that look like horns and once the seeds are "ripe" the pods burst allowing the seeds to be dispersed by the wind. The seeds look very similar to those of the Thistle and Milkweed.

Picture of the seed pods, seeds and the stems.
enter image description here
Image Credit

Hope you enjoyed the post!

Sort:  

So interesting! Great photos. I don't think I have ever seen them.

I am glad you like it.

Nice post friends @madiba good luck

Its beautiful.. Is it poisonous to us? Nice pix

I am not actually sure.

great post I have not seen them thank's for share this information with us , I ve followed you !

A very good post, with very good and well-explained pictures. Keep going!

Thank you.

upped and resteemed! always love informative posts like these :)

Thanks, I am glad you liked.

Nature is so incredible! Thanks for sharing!

It truly is.

If I am not mistaken, it's a close relative of venus flytrap.

I am not sure, it would be good to look up.

Wow, this star flower looks like seastar :) upvoted

Now that you say it, it kind of does.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63318.34
ETH 3108.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97