First Fishing Trip

in #nature6 years ago

IMG_9987.jpg

I've never gone fishing before and this weekend I was out in Shinnecock Bay and Ocean, NY. As a child my father tried to take my and sister and I fishing but we couldn't understand the concept of sitting and waiting for a fish to bite the bait. When my friend invited me to go fishing I was super excited to try something new.

IMG_9993.jpg

From the marina we sailed out towards the ocean. Unfortunately the winds were so strong that day we were unable to fish in the ocean, instead we stayed in the bay. Captain Don gave us a quick demo on how to use the fishing rods and it was time to fish.

IMG_9986.jpg

I was so thrilled when I caught my first fish, the sea robin. It is the coolest looking fish. Apparently they have no teeth but three sharp spines by the head. My second catch was the black sea bass. Normally, I would see fillets of black bass sold in stores so to see the whole fish was exciting.

IMG_9989.jpg

After a few hours of fishing I am hooked! I now understand the thrill of this hobby. From the moment the line drops into the water, to the bite, and reeling in the, catch it's all exhilarating. Not knowing what you will be pulling up is also part of the all whole charm. I can't wait for my next fishing adventure.

IMG_9988.jpg

Sort:  

no big fish but full colors of imagine

Definitely no big fishes, haha. I see you fish quite a bit. What is your biggest catch? Thanks @tomlegion.

I am a huge fan of fishing. There is nothing like the excitement of the strike and the fight. Of course cooking up your catch is a lot of fun too!

I'll leave the cooking to you @chefsteve. What was your latest catch and how did you prepare it? Thanks for your comment.

Nice trip. Nature is amazing.

Welcome to Steemit @avance. I saw on your post you like to travel, where was your most recent travels? Thank you@avance.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 63196.13
ETH 3385.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45