LordNigel's Travels - Isle of Skye - Highland Cow Special

in #nature6 years ago (edited)

Hi everyone,

Today I thought I'd do another special post about my favorite Scottish animal, the Highland Cow.

The isle of Skye is one of the top locations in Scotland to visit. I love the scenery and landscapes, but when it comes to animals how can you not love the Highland cow.

The Highland cows have long horns and long wavy coats. Unfortunately for Veggie eaters, they are raised primarily for their meat (very low cholesterol compared to other beef), but I love them for their kind nature and crazy long hair.

It's very rainy and windy in Skye, but the long wavy coats help to keep them happy.

The breed is slow growing (unlike the domestic cow) and so they are fairly prized as adults and are some what hard to find.

They come in a variety of colours, but are mostly known for their brownish colour

They are quite approachable, but you need to be cautious of their mood - those long horns could be dangerous.


I hope you like Highland cows as much as I do?

Until next time, take care and all the best.


[//]:# (!steemitworldmap 57.419815 lat -6.567078 long https://steemit.com/nature/@lordnigel/lordnigel-s-travels-isle-of-skye-highland-cow-special d3scr)



Sort:  

Fluffy cows, too cute

Poor cows tho ☹️

Alright, one day I will visit Scotland and now I will make sure to meet th Highland Cows

Won't regret they rock! (bring a comb)

Haha these guys look funky with the hair in the front of their faces!! Awesome series :)

Haha, yeah I reacon they look cool! - cheers

I love the Isle of Skye. Remember it fondly from when I was a kid, although I haven't been there in 40 years. Such a shame we have to eat these beautiful animals. Mankind isn't very evolved. It's really sad. These beautiful creatures just want to enjoy life and the world the way we do.

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=lordnigel
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=lordnigel-s-travels-isle-of-skye-highland-cow-special


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Your photos are really lovely BTW!

Cheers

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 67720.63
ETH 3807.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.68