THESE GUYS KNOW THEIR JOB ALREADY! – THE BLESSING OF INSTINCTS

in #nature7 years ago (edited)

Eat them bugs you Guinea Fowl!


With some gifts from @vcelier and @matthewtiii the @little-peppers recently picked up some baby Guinea Fowl, called “keets.” The goal is to let them grow and then move them down to our land, so that they can help control the pest population by eating things like ticks.

It has been a bit since we got them now, and they are hard at work growing. At this stage they are still awkward and delicate, and yes, we have “lost” a few. (“Lost” means that they died.) Figuring that this was a possibility, we did pick up extra keets just in case. We figured it a lot of them made it adulthood, we could share with others, like @bluerthangreen, @allforthegood, and @alittlebluer.

We let some of the larger ones out in the yard today for a little while to see what they would do. They roamed and pecked at the plants for a while, but they also found a bug, caught it, and then fought over it.

Yes! They know their job already!


UPVOTE-FOLLOW-RESTEEM

This amazing @little-peppers logo was generously provided by @rigaronib.

Sort:  

@little-peppers had some land, E I E I O
And on that land there were some keets, E I E I O
With a tic tic here and a tic tic there
Here a tic, there a tic, everywhere a tic tic
@little-peppers had some land, E I E I O

Awesome....unleash the guineas! The great tick and chigger slaughter of 2017! RAR!!

So cute! I am glad that most of them are doing well. Keep on keeting! And steeming!

They are so cute!

That is wonderful, that they are growing up and start to do their job and on top of that they are so cute!

Guinea Fowl is beautiful and active, hopefully they can survive until adult, I can not imagine if I have some chicks like you, my sunggh is very dear to them

Ohh I LOVE guineas!
If u can get them to stay they are one of the best farm animals for SURE!
Keep rocking @little-peppers ! ur already more renowned on here than me! hahaha

They look like tiny ducklings

Wow, those guinea fowl look a little different to the ones we get in South Africa.
So glad you letting the kids play outside all the time - it's so rare nowadays... Kids tend to sit behind iPads all the time :(

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63398.53
ETH 2660.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77