Fun with the Aloha Lizards

in #nature7 years ago

geetheadshot.jpg
I made friends with the geckos in my yard by feeding them mealworms. These lizards are not native to the Hawaiian islands, they were introduced in the 70’s by a university student. Gold dust day geckos (Phelsuma laticauda) are originally from Madagascar and are now established here.
geetwondergecko.jpg
This is Geet or GT (Godzilla Tail). In the beginning I overfed him and his tail became proportionally enormous. They store fat energy in their tails. Gold dust day geckos do not get much longer than 5 to 6-inches. On the continental U.S. they are often kept as pets.
gg.jpg
This is GG (Gigi). She is much smaller than Geet but always hungrier. Now, I only feed them every three days. They can often be found together but sometimes they go off on their own secret adventures.

If I’m in the patio, they follow me along the fence like little green dogs. There is one other gecko that I see occasionally I refer to as Bart since he has an overbite.

Please no insurance jokes.

I also sometimes play with the Brown anoles. They have pretty much displaced the green Carolina anoles in my yard.
thedude.jpg
This is The Dude displaying his dewlap.

Sort:  

Awww. Love the color, too! I think the closest thing we have to that in Minnesota is a salamander...

Thanks! Salamanders are cool! I don't think we have any here in Hawaii.

Mahalo, thanks for looking! :)

Those are some adorable looking lizards.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63186.04
ETH 3392.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50