Winter Preparation in Colorado

in #nature6 years ago

It's the start of winter here in Colorado. Expecting 6-12 inches of snow in the mountains today. None yet down where we are at, but glad we prepared. We repaired our fireplace with a wood-burning stove insert last year. Very glad we did! This year, our furnace did not want to start up, and with the sudden early winter switch from 80 degrees Friday to low's in the mid thirties this weekend, we were very glad to have the warmth in the evenings.

While I love the high-tech "Nest" thermostats on the furnace, this is a good example why it is also nice to have a good low-tech backup plan! Not to mention, just having the great ambiance of a nice fire.

Fireplace2018.jpg

Also love the electric log splitter we bought last year. It has worked awesome splitting much bigger logs than it's rated for. Much easier to use and maintain than the gas-powered ones. Even easier than renting one for use, as I can easily just go out for a couple hours at a time instead of being rushed to do it all in a day.

IMG_20170916_174440.jpg

The fall is my favorite time of year, but doesn't seem like we had much of it this year, going right from a late summer into early winter within a week!

*All photos original work copyright the author.

Enjoy the change of seasons, and stay warm!
@ksteem

Sort:  

Look at that gorgeous pile of firewood! Yes, I get excited about firewood. We still have to get lots for the winter, but I love our wood stove. Stay warm!

Thanks! We had to pull down a few trees this year that were too close to house. My back was NOT very excited, but we certainly won't need to buy any wood this year, and probably not the next year or two either. One of the best investments we've made. This one has the electric blower on it as well, which really throws out the heat!

I grew up in Colorado, and I lived there for a large part of my life. I just left three years ago, and I do indeed remember how quickly the seasons can flip there. You never know in Colorado...after the storm, you might get a change and have several mild weeks before the next one hits. Part of the fun of living in one of the most beautiful and weather volatile places in the country!

Yes, we definitely enjoy the seasonal changes. I find the winter's less miserable than I did in St. Louis. Back there the rain and snow seems to last forever when it comes. Up here it seems only a day or two, then back to sunshine. Definitely doesn't feel as cold. I guess it's a "dry cold" like people say about the heat. lol

I totally get that. I live in Spokane now. It snows maybe 6 inches all winter...but it never gets warm, and the snow stays on the ground all winter long. Definitely a different animal than the Colorado winter, for sure!

I have a wood stove insert into the fireplace and it keeps the drafts out. It's a great backup heater too.

Wowwww, nice! Still slowly dropping around here, no snow yet!

We may get a dusting tonight if the drizzle and light rain continues. Got her heating up!

We got a little snow flurry today (:

Us too again yesterday, I was hoping to get out and take some drone pics, but too wet. And now today the sun out and all gone pretty early this morning. Maybe I'll still be able to catch some fall color in the leaves.

I dream of having a home with a hearth one day... simple pleasures! :)

Yes, it took us two upgrades to get here, but we finally got ours! Keep the thought and it will come to you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63464.16
ETH 3111.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98