Raccoons in the house 2

in #nature5 years ago

The Nest cam caught another raccoon in the house. They keep harassing our cats and stealing their food from the back porch. If you watch about :19, you will see the trap door come down about the same time the coon turns over the container.

Many city folks think these are cute, but they are really destructive. They can cost thousands of dollars of damage to your house, and sometimes carry rabies. Even without disease, they are dangerous and can injure your other pets or will even attack humans if cornered.

On another note, I'm pretty impressed with the nest cam's. Not a bad night vision picture, and I have it on low resolution to save bandwidth. I get an alert to my phone and computer with a still image, and can then just click the link to view in realtime. Then I either click my smartapp to close the trap door, or just tell Alexa to "catch the coon" with a skill I programmed in.

Sort:  

My advice: Get a dog with sharp teeth20170924_081543.jpg

I dunno, I think need a bigger dog than that! This guy was probably a little over 30 lbs, had an even bigger one last year that was almost 40. They are pretty mean and have a mouthful of sharp teeth and claws themselves.

Would a bigger cats help, @ksteem? You know, like the ones in India ;))

Lol, I think that may do it! But may have to enlarge the kitty door. Hmm we do have mountain lions here in Colorado. I wonder how to bait them in?

That guy looks fat and healthy! 😮

We have monkeys here... yes, they come into the apartment too, and steal my bread and fruits from my neighbours' tabletops! We now make sure to have all windows and door to the kitchen (especially) closed during the day - they don't care even if we are at home, and have been known to walk over to the living room to get cookies, etc! While we are sitting there! And no, I don't understand how people find monkeys cute either... sighhh!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 58951.49
ETH 2505.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48