Because Monday - a rainbow and a couple of lessons

in #nature7 years ago

Because Monday, fresh off a weekend's rest from editing images, learning how to make gifs and panoramas and figuring out how to get a Steemit account going for someone else, I was unhumble/foolhardy/arrogant enough to believe I can now stitch together any photos of something I know form a panorama. Monday always knows better, and this Monday was no different, perhaps even more Monday than a typical Monday.

So here are the photos I took one stunning February afternoon last year.

Rainbow left



I had raced home to look at this rainbow from a better vantage point than this office car park, because it was a double rainbow. Here's an unedited shot which shows I didn't even roll down my car window to take the picture. What was I thinking? How often do we get to see double rainbows? Who cares if it's raining? Get out there and get that photo even if it means a soaking!

Double rainbow



So here's what the centre and right hand sides of the rainbow looked like:

Rainbow centre


Rainbow right

Panorama, easy-peasy with modern software, right? I know nothing, Jon Snow. And Monday was here to remind me of that.

It turns out that the pixel connectors in the various bits of software I tried recognised a Monday when they saw one - no way would they put these three pictures together. I've had my Humble Pie for lunch now and am simply going to post the photos separately and let you do that amazing human thing our brains do: stitch the photos together in your minds.

When you look at these photos you can see why software would refuse to stitch them. I hadn't taken them with the intent to create a panorama; I just thought each photo looked good at the time. Here's an example of what happened when I tried to stitch them.

Rainbow panorama not

Garbage in, garbage out.

But I've learned my Monday lesson. Stay humble, and if I see a double rainbow, get out there and take proper panorama pics next time.

Sort:  

Wuaaaooo..! es el arco iris, son unas imágenes impresionantes, sabes en la biblia dice que Dios hizo una promesa de nunca destruir la tierra con agua y dijo que al formarse el arco iris en el cielo seria un recordatorio de su promesa, gracias por compartirlas.

Gracias, @yecapa! I Google translated your reply just to make sure I understood it :-). Lovely interpretation of the rainbow :-) :-).

Wowww, that's one hell of beauty. I love how you managed to take these pictures. Its really adorable. Indeed nature is beautiful, only the best eyes appreciate nature's beauty and u @kiligirl, are among them. Thanks for sharing.

Thank you, @ortigas100 :-). Glad it gave you some beauty to enjoy.

Wow rainbow🌈🌈

Where's me pot o gold..

Great pics ... also you can definitely fix your panoramas by "stitching" them together in photoshop! Here is a link to a webpage that explains to how to do it: https://photofocus.com/2013/11/09/how-to-stitch-panoramic-photos-with-adobe-photoshop/

Thanks, @icedrum. I tried a number of different packages and it turned out there simply weren't enough points of contact between the three pics. Perhaps Photoshop would have been able to do it.

The last picture is especially amazing. Thanks for sharing!

Ummm, I wish it was amazing, but thank you anyway!

Wow rainbow all over. :-) Last pic is awesome :-) Upvoted you.

Ummmm...thanks :-)

Look at the bright side of this experience.....We learn something new everyday regardless of our age and circumstances... ;-P

Thanks, @awesome-seven 😊😊lol

rainbow and monday good combination

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 61191.20
ETH 2972.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.48