My Science project in South Africa - the story and photo's

in #nature6 years ago

IMG_4519.JPG

I am a Ecology student in Cape Town and is busy doing a project on Wadering Birds for my final year in my Bachelor degree.

For two weeks we, me and 28 other students, were sent to West Coast National Park to look for a project and obtain the field data during January.

Screenshot_2018-02-15-07-27-09-1.png
a screenshot from Google maps of the Lagoon we stayed and worked around

IMG_4484.JPG
Here is some of my fellow students watching the sunset

For the two weeks we got a stack of articles to work through, and each of us got one to present as a presentation. Inbetween all the reading, we had to go out in the field and collet data for our project of choice. My group and I found an interest in the birds (This location, Geelbek, is famous for being a hotspot for migratory birds) and called ourselves the Plover Lovers. We decided to determine the Species Richness and Abundance of the all the Waders.

We stayed in old stables built on a farm which was established in 1785. Today the Main house in a restuarant and the slables are sleeping quarters for big groups like us.

IMG_3552.JPG
IMG_3804.JPG
the stables

We chose 4 locations to count from, grabed our sunscreen, hats and the Scopes and walked to the locations. The one location was about one kilometre's walking along soft shore sand, eish!

IMG_4207.JPG
Busy counting birds

We counted with the tide for a few days. The tide time was extremely difficult to predict, because we worked around a lagoon.

IMG_4069 (2).JPG
Lesser flamingo's flying and a Greater flamingo foraging in the foreground

IMG_4379 (2).JPG
this is a Common Whimbrel, still attempting to forage with the incoming tide

IMG_4655-1.jpg
Ringed Plovers

After the counting we had to start thinking about stats. This part I find very difficult, and I'm still busy figuring out the stats at this moment.

IMG_4560.JPG
Trying to do stats

In the area there were a few few game roaming around, I am accually surprised that there were any due to the dry Fynbos vegetation that offers little shade and food.

IMG_4169.JPG
an Eland

IMG_4150.JPG
a Bontebok

IMG_3724.JPG
Ostriches

for more birdy photos, please check out my previous post: https://steemit.com/nature/@kiekie/my-swift-bird-story-and-photo-s

Sort:  

nice photo, I upvote this.
follow me and my posts @mastek

Your post was selected to be included in my "Diamond in the Rough" series. It's goal is to promote high-quality posts made by new steemians (red fish and minnow) thereby helping them get the exposure they need to grow and thrive within the Steemitverse. You may check the related post Diamonds in the Rough @sandalphon.

I agree, this is a good post. Maybe you should attribute your pictures to yourself (just to avoid ambiguity) and write a little bit more about their context and your research topic.

Thanks for the advice, I appreciate it a lot. I'll do that for my next research-based post👍

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 60941.82
ETH 3385.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50