(VIDEO) Ever Watch a Real Bee Swarm From Hive to Limb? Here You Go!

in #nature7 years ago (edited)

Go out and check your bees they say!
Go out every seven to ten days they say!
Not me, I say! 

But then, today I actually did what I was supposed to do and while inspecting one of our hives, we caught ourselves in the middle of an actual bee swarm.

There are plenty of reasons why  bees will swarm—aka abandon their hive and find a new general abode. 

In my case, our one hive was simply overcrowded and we had several queen cones breaking through with new queens. In fact, we actually watched a queen come completely out of its cone after we captured our swarm and created a third hive which was exhilarating.  Yes, I did use the word exhilarating because if you have never been around bees before, open up a hive and understand. 

Altogether, I would say the entire swarm took maybe a total of twenty minutes from the exit leaving their hive to the actual calm of balling up on a tree limb.  I am a new beekeeper but from the friends I have, they said to be physically caught in the middle of the swarm and actually get it on video is incredibly rare—right place at the right time. 

Rare or not, I really just wanted to share this experience with my new found Steemit tribe.  

Hope you enjoy and know that any “Resteem” or “Upvotes” are truly appreciated—I mean, think of the anaphylactic shock I could have endured while getting all this on film. Hahahaha....Funny…Not Funny.   

Sort:  

Usually, when they're swarming, they are not very aggressive. They are mostly focused on following their queen.

One year, I was able to collect two wild swarms, right in my back yard, one week apart, and install them in a new hive each. All I needed was gloves, and not a single sting.

I miss my bees.

I was pretty amazed at how aggressive they actually were at first when we first approached the hive. We knew right away something was not right. But then, literally within minutes, their aggressiveness just seemed to stop. Truly fascinating little creatures.

Thank you for sharing! We began May 1, 2017 with 1 hive, and had 3 swarms in less than a month. We captured them successfully and they are happy and thriving! The amount of pollen flow is incredible this year! We hope the neighbors' pesticides don't kill our babies again this year.

Congratulations @kerp14! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Welcome to Steemit :)
I follow u, follow me back if u want lot of fun and amazing picture every day.

Done deal

Before a swarm swarms, there are bunches of searcher bees.

Normally bees fly looking specifically for flowers, or specifically for water.
When you see bees (not wasps) poking into ever crevice, they are doing reconnaissance. The swarm will be not long after.

Interesting. End of the day, I just need to spilt my hives as they are overcrowded. Hopefully we pull plenty of honey this summer. I would like to make some mead.

In soviet Russia, you swarm bees.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62904.22
ETH 2571.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.76