Beltane Blessings! 🌺

in #nature6 years ago

Happy May!!! Today is a special day. It’s a cross-quarter day, in between Spring Equinox and Summer Solstice.

Why does that matter? Well, when we tune into the natural cycles of the earth, we're able to be more aware of the way we’re interconnected with nature. In the same way, taking note of the moon’s cycles gives us a chance to notice how the full moon invites more outward energy, and the new moon invites more inward reflection and rest.


all gifs via giphy.com

Beltane is an ancient Celtic celebration observed on May Day, beginning the sunset before and lasting until sunset tonight. But if you read this late, no worries, you can still celebrate. Just like the full moon, cross-quarter days, equinoxes and solstices still offer their power a few days before and after.

Traditionally, Beltane is about fertility and abundance. Some people celebrate with wild bonfires. Some get married on this day, or conceive children. Many pray for healthy crops and a good harvest.

I had a heck of a time going to sleep last night. I think my spirit was out dancing around the fire with my nature-loving kin.



Love Thy Mother.


Does this make me sound like a pagan?

It might. I do take some of my beliefs from “pagan” traditions. But to me, the most important thing is honouring Mother Earth, and the way my human form is so intertwined with the elements of nature.

It’s also my mother’s birthday, and I actually get to spend it with her. What a treat!

I’ll be observing Beltane today by sending blessings to the earth, every chance I get.

Blessings to the land,
blessings to the water,
blessings to the trees,
blessings to the air.
Blessings to Mother Earth,
and to every creature who lives upon her.
Blessings to us all.

Perhaps you’d like to take a moment to send some love to this beautiful planet. Maybe you’d like to sprinkle some herbs outside with a prayer for abundance and peace. The more we love our Mother Earth, the more love and abundance she gives!

If you want to read more about Beltane, @yidneth wrote a lovely post about celebrating life!

Beltane blessings to you and yours!

Peace. @katrina-ariel

Katrina Ariel


Author bio: Katrina Ariel is an old-soul rebel, musician, tree-hugging yogini, and mama bear to twins. Author of Yoga for Dragon Riders (non-fiction) and Wild Horse Heart (romance), she's another free-spirit swimming in the ocean of Steemit.

dragon
dragon art: Liiga Smilshkalne


IOW COLOR LOGO.png
Banner by @PegasusPhysics

the alliance
Banner by @bearone

Steemsugars

Sort:  

Fantastic to see others celebrating Beltane!
Loved your post, may it bring 3x3 back to you!
Blessed Be!
K

Thank you! Yes, it's great to see so many aware of this celebration, and observing it all over the world. Blessed be! :)

There is so much love coming from this post and it is so lovely to receive it. Sending you some love back 💚💚💚

And your post about Beltane was fantastic! Thank you for the love, which of course is sent back, from my heart to yours. May it be multiplied, and ripple out to touch the world. Blessed be!

Happy 1st May to you as well and untill yesterday I honestly didn't know the story behind why we celebrated with bonfires 🔥😉
Never heard of Beltane before eather untill @zen-art posted about it.
This is a great post and so much Love in it and I was up all night didn't sleep so does that mean my spirit was telling me something? 😁 Lol
Dansing by the bonfire🔥with the man you love must be like a dream.... Lol
I have to find my victim first 😂 lol
Thank you for sharing and have a wonderful week my sweet friend. Much love 🌼💗🌼

You were sleepless too? I think we both should have been dancing by a bonfire... I've yet to celebrate Beltane with my man... I think we're always either away from each other or "too busy" being parents. sigh Thanks for the sweet comment, my sister. So much love!!!

Happy Beltane @katrina-ariel, here's to many of us celebrating this great planet and the abundance that she provides for us and also to uniting the masculine and feminine side of us all.

Yes, yes and yes again! We are interwoven, interconnected. So glad to celebrate with you, even if we're on opposite sides of the planet. ((hugs))

Very interesting...till now 1st may is celebrated as labor day...and no work for laborers...this is something very new to me....thanks for sharing @katrina-ariel

Well no work for laborers is something to celebrate as well! Glad you found this informative, though @zen-art's post was actually way more detailed than this one. Thanks so much for the comment! :)

Aww thanks for the mention and Beltane blessings back to you. I just uploaded a May Queen portrait, we don't even have the tradition in my country but it's May Day after all :)
Bigs hugs... BLOOM!

I'll take a hug from you any day, sweet spirit sister! Love the May Queen portrait as well. You inspire me to keep my fairie wings spread and my child-heart bright!

This is so interesting to me - I've always been drawn to the solstices and I didn't know people celebrated the equinoxes as formally. Stonehenge solstice celebrations near where I live in the UK always make such blissful evenings, and its hard not to feel spiritual there, even despite the party-crowd who usually turn up ;)

Have a great Beltane! Is there anything special we should be doing to celebrate?

Oh! I'd love to have the chance to celebrate at Stonehenge! Or just walk there on a quiet day, to feel the energy without all the people. As for what we "should" do to celebrate, I think it's different for each person. For me it's another time to be in tune with nature and bless the land. I had a joyful day with my family, spent some time outside, hugged a few trees. @zen-art wrote a wonderful article about Beltane, as well, if you want to check that out you might find some ideas. ;) Brightest blessings!

Hard to believe it's May 1st. Thank you for the Post and I appreciate the spotlight on being interconnected with Nature.

I think it's something everyone should take a minute to Reflect upon.

I agree. I think if we were more in tune with nature, as a species, we'd have a lot less issues. Thanks so much for reading and for your sweet comment! Blessings to you and your family! :)

Your views are just like mine, we aren't really pagan, but we celebrate nature. I hold a little party for every mark along the year. I've got to get out there soon and get our may pole up.

I have yet to put up a May pole, but it's a great idea! Yes, I'm not really pagan (in my own views, anyway), just a nature lover and someone who takes whatever philosophy works.. I weave them together from different traditions. Brightest of blessings to you!

Hi @katrina-ariel, universal human being. Thanks to you I now know about Beltane, so I came late, but I learned something new and if it happen to be that I'm still here in this dimension I still would have time to celebrate a new Beltane on a new May Day. Have a great life.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63010.40
ETH 3137.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85