Wednesday Walk ~ Signs of Autumn

in #nature5 years ago

IMG_0138.JPG

Let's head out for a walk

It's about 14 C (57.2 °F), cooling off a little so you might want a jacket. Here we go up the hill behind the old schoolhouse. You're seeing the start of the autumn colours today.

I had entered the bush (forest) about a minute earlier. This one is particularly nice because of all the maple trees and their famous colour display. It's my shortcut to the main path.

IMG_0137.JPG

I left the forest and passed the schoolhouse. Here is a nice bed of big black-eyed Susans.

IMG_0140.JPG

We're taking the path to the mall. The colours don't really change until the first frost which might be tonight but the maples seem to start earlier.

IMG_0147.JPG

Isn't that colour amazing? It's almost fluorescent. Yes, it's a sugar maple tree.

small maple.JPG

That brightly coloured maple hides in this photo just behind the two rocks. You almost don't see it until you're right in front.

IMG_0141.JPG

Here are some wild asters with a bee on them.

IMG_0146.JPG

I reached the mall and turned around. This shrub has turned a dark burgundy colour.

IMG_0149.JPG

Something flashed across the path

I pulled out my camera when I saw it but I was too late. Let's see if we can get you a photo.

I stood quietly and looked into the brush. At first, he tried that trick that dogs pull of looking the other way and thinking I couldn't see him. There he is! Standing there with my camera out, a cyclist went by and the bunny didn't budge. That is an eastern cottontail rabbit.

IMG_0153.JPG

And now I'm home in the backyard and the sun came out briefly to light the vines on the fence.

IMG_0133.JPG

Thanks go to @tattoodjay for the wonderful #wednesdaywalk tag.

Images

All photos were taken by me with my Canon SX620 HS in Kanata (Ottawa), Canada

Follow footer.gif

See you on the next walk!
@kansuze

Sort:  

Oh what a lovely autumn walk! The color of that maple is incredible!

Hi @melinda010100, I'm going to start looking at maples a little more closely. There are more indigenous varieties than I was aware, at least 7 in my area, plus introduced species. I was just reading that worldwide there are approximately 150. Anyway, I know some are known for their colour more than others and it would be interesting to see if they could be identified that way.

Wow, pretty flowers and nice all the maple trees and their famous colour photography.

Congratulations @kansuze! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 7000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 8000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

We are so sorry!

Something (we are still investigating) happened last night with STEEMAUTO and we downvoted INSTEAD of upvoted.

I'm going through and removing all downvotes, replacing them with the corresponding upvotes.
image.png
Edit to add: Confirmed. SteeAuto did have a bug for several hours last night. It's been fixed. ❤️

@helpie, no harm done and thank you for the upvote.

That a wonderful place!

Great photos!
Very beautiful nature, I miss it ...
And a very cute bunny :-)))

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64344.02
ETH 3142.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01