You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The aardwolf (Proteles cristata) is a species of hyena that does not hunt large animals, but instead eats about 250,000 termites each night!

in #nature7 years ago

aardwolf eat 0.25 million termite. big number but the number contains only 2.5-3.0 kg weight so not a big deal for aardwolf. I see termite colony every where around my surroundings. I wonder how many termites are there. may be in trillions or zillions.

Sort:  

Yeah, that's a good point, @kamchore. 0.25 million sounds like a lot, but each termites is very small, so I guess the termite colony has no problem with this. However, there's far from trillions, and the best estimations I could find from a quick Google search was that a colony might have a few million each.

Your point of view is valid. The best idea is to count the colony of termite instead of counting termite.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 57226.98
ETH 2416.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.29