Unschooling Blog, Vol. 33 - A Day in the Hills: Climbing the Kushigata Mountain Range with My Son.

in #nature7 years ago

The Kushigata mountain range is a small mountain range near my home. I have hiked to the highest point once before, by myself, two years ago.

Now my son is almost five and was able to accompany me on the journey today. We saw lizards, frogs, mushrooms, and changing leaves. We talked about hiking, video games, chestnuts, bees, and how to poop outside. This is unschooling, and I am so happy we shared this time together today.

Please come along for the hike, to see what we saw!


IMG_4566.JPG
Little mushrooms.


IMG_4551.JPG
Obligatory pre-hike shot.


IMG_4554.JPG
栗 🌰 "Kuri" - "chestnut." I love their spiky defense system.


IMG_4557.JPG
Getting higher.


IMG_4560.JPG
He worked a lot on his trail skills, both ascending and descending, today.


IMG_4562.JPG
Still higher...


IMG_4563.JPG
The top!


IMG_4565.JPG
View of the larger mountain ranges across the way, dividing Japan down the middle, like a large spine.


IMG_4567.JPG
You can see on the map where I marked my first journey two years ago. Glad to add a new one today.


(Thanks for stopping by. If you missed the last Unschooling Blog, Vol. 32: ""FORK MAN!"- Making a Short "Horror" Movie and Editing Together Using iMovie," you can find it here.)

Sort:  

That quality time you spend with your kids imprints a life long bond in their heart. I bet you had fun hiking with your son..... keep it real and don't lose the bond. #family

That quality time you spend with your kids imprints a life long bond in their heart.

That's so real.

Thanks man. Much appreciated.

Dude, this is beyond inspirational ! I love love love what you are doing with the family and it definitely gives me ideas. My son is only a year but I can't wait till we can start really hanging and doing things together like you and your boy! Greatness man 🔥

Thanks man! That rules! Yes, it just gets more and more fun as they grow up and come into their own.

Never know chestnut is spiky like that.

Yeah, it's amazing. It's a perfect little time-release capsule. The spikes keep the birds/animals from eating it until it's ready to come out.

Every time I see mushrooms I remember about a joke: "All mushrooms are eatable, just some of them a single time!

Haha! I love it.

Good one! Can't wait to use it haha

Awesome glad you good spend some time with your son. He reminds me so of my boy.
@rogerblu

Great job friend, yes your son is lucky enough to have you as papa who wants to teach him with experience. There are four secrets of learning, learning by exploring is the best way of it. Thanks for the valuable information about the mountain.Have a great day friend happy steeming.

Wow the images are great especially loved the images of the landscape
This shall be a memorable 1 for both of you ;)

Awesome and amazing pics :D it was great seeing your post today

Your son is very cute and he is sure having a good time :)

A good adventures story between a brave papa and his son.. I really enjoyed your tour of the day.. A small boy, without any fear impressive trail of climbing ...Learning by practice... Good job! Nice to see the "chesnut"and it's mechanism of adaptation for its survival.. Hope to ,again you come up with such type of enjoyable adventures ...Stay happy and health y.. both of you... Thanks

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 66507.45
ETH 3328.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69