Playing in the Tetrapods at the Beach.

in #nature7 years ago (edited)

We came here almost as an accident today. Looking for a respite from the stresses of an overly domesticated life.

373DF6C9-128B-434E-82BE-4FDA5BE9FCDE.jpeg

The green ivy that once wrapped all around the tetrapods by the sea is now brown and dry. Like thousands of tiny ropes.
7699A907-2585-4F44-A36E-598EA3D586D3.jpeg
215AB12E-7EED-4ED1-BD5C-BF7E6213E185.jpeg

The beach is still beautiful now. Maybe moreso. But there’s also a bittersweet feeling to it, as if all the ghosts of the carefree summer still linger, wondering what happened.

B7841B30-7AE3-4790-8352-272EED9B4295.jpeg

But you still made it magical. You are the magic. Climbing amongst the tetrapods and exploring the haphazard system of tunnels far below.

01361F08-5E15-435C-AAD6-6DE462E0470E.jpeg

Calling out that there was indeed treasure! And not just the flotsam of the public’s discarded trash. When I looked at you, you were the most priceless thing I’d ever seen.

867B7C13-DB72-4785-9DDE-ED5B17455063.jpeg

When it was time to leave, you said you wanted to come back tomorrow.

B0BB85BA-4D99-472C-B585-194AE6FBC4EA.jpeg

Yes, I think we should!

~KafkA

!


Graham Smith is a Voluntaryist activist, creator, and peaceful parent residing in Niigata City, Japan. Graham runs the "Voluntary Japan" online initiative with a presence here on Steem, as well as Facebook and Twitter. (Hit me up so I can stop talking about myself in the third person!)

Sort:  

@kafkanarchy84 - Wow - you are in a poetic mood today. I love the way you said 'ghosts of a carefree summer still linger'. The images of your son among the stark tetrapods remind me of a lone sapling in the desert - full of life and braving the odds.

Thanks for sharing. Upvoted full

Regards,

@vm2904

Interesting post.

While I am definitely not a fan of tetrapods or tetrapod-lined coasts, I appreciate and condone any viewpoint that reveals the beauty of the world, or that makes the world a more beautiful place.

Another point made in your post is that to the eyes of an adult, things may look unpleasant. But to an innocent child, much that appears bad or wrong or ugly to a jaded adult is in fact beautiful.

Thanks for posting,

wow beautiful scenes my friend, it's no doubt a fantastic place to spent time and i really like the calmness of the place and the way Isaiah enjoying there, these are priceless moments, i also love the way he is moving in between those tetrapods to finding treasures, it shows how much he is loving and enjoying that place, wishing you both a very cheerful and joyful weekend ahead, Stay awesome.

Thank you! You stay awesome, too!

Love how you captured your magical moments! Keep up the good work! :)

Been reading so much garbage on steemit lately. This is so refreshing Kafka. You gonna tell me what's behind the name or am I going to die wanting to know! 😊🌃✌️

Really? Now I'm interested to know what this garbage is. Haha. Thank you man. I'm so glad to hear that.

As for the name.

Franz Kafka's The Metamorphosis and Haruki Murakami's Kafka on the Shore both had a pretty big impact on me, I guess.

Plus, I just like how it sounds. I was reading the latter at the time of creating my Steem account, if memory serves...

Copy-pasta garbage. Not worth sharing, trust me. So this is where it's from! It was very very VERY familiar to me, but I just couldn't put my finger on it. Haruki Murakami. Read that waaaay back in the day. Kafka on the Shore. Damn, I feel like you just unblocked some sort of stale memory canal in my brain. Say no more brotha, I understand it now. Have a good night man, I'm about to pass out. Just checking how much Vertcoin I mined for the day before I drift away :) Nites.

Yes you guys should!!

Amazing vocation for your kid. Exellent photos - incredible daily story @kafkanarchy

It seemed both of you had a good time there.. Isaiah is really magic. Climbing amongst the tetrapods...You are the lucky father to have such an adorable son..

Best place you know when i do something bad or something that my dad dont like he takes me to the beach where we sit alone talking long with each others and my dad gives best solutions to my problems <3 so beach is very great place where you and your son can enjoy and talk all alone with calmness :)
PS : I really love my dad <3

This time, in beach... Both father and son!... Nice to see your interest in visiting through various atmosphere...Have fun and enjoy. ..
.

Where is this place? I can't help but wonder what happen to the Ivy?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62631.34
ETH 2454.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62