Osmanthus Fragrans: The Most Beautifully Scented Autumn Flower

in #nature7 years ago (edited)

7A4F10AA-58EE-4710-9314-7B415E38E4CB.jpeg


Every autumn in Japan, a special kind of tree begins to bloom around October.

I first noticed the smell in the air soon after I came to Japan, and thought it was the smell of fabric softener. I couldn’t figure out what it was, but thought maybe it was coming from someone’s house.

I started to notice this mysterious, intoxicating fragrance everywhere. Finally, I realized it was coming from these fantastically orange-flowered trees. Osmanthus Fragrans, or “Sweet Olive.”

15549141-B736-4064-B67F-76CE74B9AF69.jpeg
A sweet olive tree by my house.

The smell of these flowers carries very far, hence the “fragrans” in the name. When I smell this fragrance, I know that the beautiful oranges of October—the persimmons, the various orange berries, and the Osmanthus Fragrans blossoms—have arrived.

Just another reason fall is one of my favorite times of year.

EA5B5ABC-8689-4AB3-9D2A-B308E9A7635A.jpeg

To learn more about this wonderful shrub/tree, and about it’s historical significance in Asia, the wikipedia article is an excellent resource.


~KafkA

IMG_6356.jpg


Graham Smith is a Voluntaryist activist, creator, and peaceful parent residing in Niigata City, Japan. Graham runs the "Voluntary Japan" online initiative with a presence here on Steem, as well as Facebook and Twitter. (Hit me up so I can stop talking about myself in the third person!)

Sort:  

Your feelings for every tiny object shows how you live your life...how you give meaning to everything and specialy how much you are consiouse towards every happening of life and nature...the flower not only make you consiouse to seasonal change but shows your concern towards natural changes..thanks for sharing...apreciating your skill of seeing everything....

Thanks so much for this touching comment.

Welcome friend....

Wish i could smell it too :D

Usually the good stuff like that start showing in spring and summer. Where at fall here and everything is getting winter ready. During this time you have allot of beautiful mushrooms though, I'll be blogging later. Netherlands that is, account still on Thailand mode. I'm delayed two weeks now, hehe.

Nice photography!!
its cool!!

Its a beautiful plant

Very nice to see that you are enjoying the autumn's fragrance of nature..You know, here also the flowers are blooming because monsoon is over and its autumn now..we get variety of fragrance early in the morning when there is mist in the air and the atmosphere is free from pollution..

This is very fragrant post. Thank You for helping me start the day with this scenic beauty. Nice post @kafkanarchy84.

Keep sharing, caring and spreading the love. Stay awesome. You got my unconditional support.

Steem On!

I'd love to visit japan! Hoping that i'll have a chance.

Nice to see your good sense towards nature... Your beautiful flower "Osmanthus frgrance"pours more beauty in your beautiful home..Thanks for sharing your feelings of autumn...

nice post.that's true.these flowers carries smell very far..

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 71095.13
ETH 3686.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.76