🐌 Heliciculture: snail farming from my garden to my house 🐌

in #nature7 years ago

DSC03715_cleaned - Copie.JPG

Heliciculture, also known as heliculture, commonly known as snail farming, is the process of raising land snails specifically for human use, either to use their flesh as edible escargot, or more recently, to obtain snail slime for use in cosmetics, or snail eggs for human consumption as a type of caviar.

Thanks Wikipedia. For me it was mainly out of curiosity. I had an aquarium without animal since my fish died. I had this idea of raising snail, or as you say here escargot, in there.

DSC03708_cleaned - Copie.JPG

Cosy snail house

After reading a bit of documentation, I was ready to build the perfect house for them. My ultimate goal is to get the teeny tiny eggs and spread them in the nature ^_^. I found nice earth that they can dig in, some plants I saw them eat, stones and or egg shell for the snail shell (they get it by walking on surface with a lot of calcium) and some sticks to play hide-and-seek.
DSC03710_cleaned - Copie.JPG

Not bad uh?

DSC03711_cleaned - Copie.JPG

What was left was to see if my new tenants would like their little home. Finding them around the garden was very easy, as long as you know where to look for them. I took one small and four medium ones. I am hoping I can get across the bigger one after the rain. It is mating season and I might get lucky.

So far so good

They are eating what I give them everyday before sunset. They travel all around the place. I might get them a bigger place. Next step is to make them a small pool. It is getting warm in here. No plan on eating them... for now. They are very interesting slow things.
DSC03712_cleaned - Copie.JPG

Sort:  

That is very cool. I was thinking of building something similar for my daughter but wasn't sure how well they would keep

It really fun to do if you have the space.

I never knew I wanted one of these until your post! So cool!!!

Just try it and share with us !!!

Upvoted!
This is so cool. Keep up the good work.

thanks you :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 60778.23
ETH 2434.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55