Visiting Canyon Creek Fish Hatchery

in #nature8 years ago (edited)

Over the weekend as part of our escape up north, we stopped by Canyon Creek Fish Hatchery. 

Canyon Creek Fish Hatchery is one of the largest Fish Hatcheries in the state. 

The Hatchery produces on average 80,000 lbs of trout per year, which is roughly 20% of the entire trout stocked in the state of Arizona. They are responsible for approximately 65% of all the trout stockings in the White Mountains. 

The Hatchery is unique in that it has large "fish bins" outside that visitors are allowed to look in. There are currently 6 bins that house fish, with each bin housing larger and larger fish until you get to the last bin which houses the largest fish. There are even fish food machines nearby that you can purchase some food to feed the fish.

Feeding the fish makes for some great fun! 

This was the view we saw on the first couple bins after we threw a little food in:

Then we threw a bunch of food in...

They were like piranhas! 

I've never seen trout act like that before. It was pretty fun to watch. 

In all my excitement I forgot to take a video of the ordeal myself, but I found this one online that was much the same as my experience:

<div style="position:relative;height:0;padding-bottom:56.25%"><iframe src="

" style="position:absolute;width:100%;height:100%;left:0" width="640" height="360" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe></div>

It was only my second time going to a Fish Hatchery. They are really pretty neat and best of all, it was free! Even the fish food was free. Although that was only because the feed machine was broken. :)

Have you ever been to a fish hatchery? What were your impressions? Let me know in the comments section below.

Live well my friends!

Sources:

https://www.azgfd.com/fishing/hatcheries/canyoncreek/

https://www.youtube.com

Follow me: @jrcornel

Sort:  

I remember having visited some salmon place in Canada where one could witness similar stuff. This was actually much more impressive than what I would have initially thought of such a place :)

Yea it was pretty neat that you could get right up to the fish... and it was all free! I was surprised as well. :)

Wow amazing picture @jrcornel ,
I like it

Wow, seems they were very hungry

nice post

😉

Yes, they seriously were! Thanks for the kind words! :)

Whoa! I've never seen trout feed like that either! Very cool documentation @jrcornel.

Thanks! Yea they acted much more like bluegill than trout. :)

I can't say that I have ever visited a fish hatchery, but that looks like it would be something to see! You've fulfilled my TIL requirement for the day...it's actually something my grandmother made me promise her when I was young, that I would learn something new everyday. She believed that this was the key to avoiding senility in old age. She was eighty when she passed and still sharp as a tack, so I feel compelled to listen to honor her request :)

The coolest yet also a bit frightening feeding I have ever witnessed was of an owl at a bird sanctuary. I saw a hawk and an eagle feeding their as well, and they were awe inspiring as well, but there was something about the owl.

Wow, that sounds crazy... That would be cool to see an owl feed!

If you ever visit Florida the Sanctuary is in a town called Punta Gorda, just south of Sarasota. It's actually adjoined to ponce de leon park, and it only costs a donation of whatever you wish to walk through. Don't quote me on this, but I'm fairly certain the feeding times are regular so you could call ahead if you wanted to be there when it was happening. We lived there so we went to the park often. At the time they also had a bluejay that said a few words...not a parrot, a bluejay, it was pretty amazing :)

Wonderful @jrcornel
Love this!

Thanks for sharing your experience. I love to fish. Catch and release. Enjoyed your presentation.

Same here, I rarely eat them. I am not a huge fish eater, but I sure love to catch them :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63630.04
ETH 2656.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81