Snowshoeing in Elkridge... A Time Before Babies

in #nature6 years ago

IMG_2653.JPG

Today's chill had me thinking about way back when, early in 2015 when my husband & I took a little mini getaway to Elkridge Resort to go snowshoeing, exploring & hopefully wildlife spotting. I ended up with a bad cold the day we were leaving for our trip, but we decided to just go anyways & I'm so glad we did. Turns out, I was already pregnant (just didn't know it yet) & we've never had a mini getaway since.... two babies later!

IMG_2960.JPG

We drove to a few different trails, put on the snow shoes & just walked. It was very snowy & completely magical. We also spotting some elk! (YES!) Such majestic creatures. So many times during our little hike, we swore we could hear doors creaking open & closed. But of course, it was simply the trees moving & swaying with the breeze that made them "creak". It was so serene & quiet... perfection.

We ended our getaway with a lovely supper & a dip in the hottub... a perfect end to a great day outside! I still came home feeling so gross with my cold but then found out the day after Valentines day, that we were expecting! Our mini getaway was just the beginning of an even more incredible journey.

IMG_2797.JPG

IMG_2625.JPG

Have you ever done a little two day getaway with your spouse or significant other? Where did you go? Would you go to the same place again, or somewhere new? I'm asking because I kind of want to surprise my hubby with a little mini getaway this year if I can. (shh!!) Where would you recommend?

Sort:  

Gorgeous shots, so peaceful and majestic, yet humbling to see such power of the nature. Loved your story :)

Thank you so much. The world outside is constantly amazing me. :)

Very true, you just gotta look at it with open eyes and mind full of wonder :)

So good, Liz <3

Thanks hunnn<3

Great shots! Upvoted.
If you like the outdoors you should visit Newfoundland! Great trails here for hiking and snowshoeing!!

Check out/ follow my blog for some pictures!

I would LOVE to go there!! Thanks I'll check it out!!!

Also, thanks for the upvote! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 58720.84
ETH 3088.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41