Exploring: Iceland Grjótagjá Cave and Hot Spring

in #nature7 years ago (edited)

Hot springs are my favorite.

I've been fascinated them since a junior college class about 15 years ago. I think I was 21.

The assignment was to find something interesting, locally, about our natural world. And to visit it and photograph it.

I don't know if I set out to find a hot spring, I had never been to one before. I was browsing through the library and came across a paperback book, Hot Springs of the Eastern Sierras, published 1997.

It's location was over a mountain pass. One that I was familiar with, but this was before cell phones were common (nor did I have one), no gps, no Google Earth. Together with a friend we navigated the Sonora Pass by paperback book. The directions took us down a dirt road, we covered it slowly, and honestly I didn't think we'd find anything at the end.

But as George Williams III promised in his book, we came to a steep ridge over a river, steam rising above it. And there we were, at a place in the earth where the magma is so close to the surface that we get the benefit of the therapeutic hot water bubbling to the surface.

Think about that for a minute....magma, close to the surface. Somehow it seems really exciting.

15 years later no matter where I'm traveling one of the first things I do is research hot springs in that location. You'd be surprised how many there are all over the world!

Last summer I was given an amazing gift of an opportunity, to photograph my friend Kylene and her soon to be husband (and my soon to be friend) Adam (@customnature) in Iceland, where they were to be married. I already knew Iceland was the rumored land of "Fire and Ice" and so my hot spring mapping began.

The wonders abound in Iceland. You don't need to travel far to find something just plain unusual. It was a photographer and curious person's paradise.

Here is a somewhat famous hot spring, Grjótagjá. Supposedly it's everyone's favorite Jon Snow and Ygrette scene in the cave...you know the one. As magical as that seems, I heard it's actually only the entry to the cave that was filmed, and the actual hot spring was somewhere else. I really don't know.

Regardless, the mystery of scrambling through the narrow opening in the rocks to find the steamy blue water below is all it needs for fame. The juxtaposition of the steamy warmth with the cool right outside made it feel like you were miles away from where you came. To add to the "magma suspense" I always think about when enjoying a hot spring, the whole area was covered in lava fields, steam rising through the cracks.

Here's my sister, Ruby Goat as we started calling her...for her ability to scramble up and over any surface I asked her to.

0X5A9832.jpg

0X5A9822.jpg

0X5A9844.jpg

Sort:  

Wow, these photos are great and that location is absolutely stunning! There are some hot springs about 4 or 5 hours from my hometown and I’ve been begging my husband to go visit. I really enjoyed the photos- thanks for sharing!

Thank you Melody! have you been to Iceland? May I ask which hotsprings are near your hometown? You should totally go. Try to go at dusk if you can and have a nighttime soak!

Can’t say that I’ve been to Iceland. I’ve never even left the U.S.! But traveling has always been a dream of mine so maybe one day :)

There is a hot spring in Arkansas (the state just south of us) The town is actually called Hot Springs. It’s a really touristy town, but it’s definitely something I want to see!

That cave ended up being in my top three locations on that trip! Also, I could be mistaken, but is that some sort of goat in the photos???

Why yes that is a rare goat specie rarely sited in the wild

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63490.29
ETH 2598.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78