You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: 5 deadly mushrooms that are common in the forest

in #nature8 years ago

Good article mate.
The first mushroom on the list looks exactly like one I used to collect a lot here in central Europe which is the most edible and common one here.
So I think I should not go out and pick mushrooms on my own :D.

So I am guessing you are Norvegian. I was wondering lately if there are any mushrooms during Winter or pre-Winter. Any experience in Norway or Sweden with such mushrooms?

Sort:  

Thanks!

You should be very careful with anything that looks like the first one on the list. There are extremely many species in the Cortinarius genus, and many of them look very much alike, but this genus has some of the most dangerous mushrooms int he world, so it's better to be safe than sorry. Here in Norway the general consensus among mycologists is to stay away from any Cortinarius mushroom with the exception of Cortinarius caperatus (which looks very different from Deadly Webcap). Anyway, do you know the name of the one you collect? I'm interested in reading about it, because as I've said, we don't really pick anything that looks like the Deadly Webcap over here.

Picking mushrooms on your own does not really have to be dangerous at all, but as I said in the blog post, you should start with some of the easier mushrooms. Starting out with easy ones such as Boletus edulis or Cantharellus cibarius (chanterelle), because they are pretty much impossible to mix with anything dangerous.

It's a bit too late to pick edible mushrooms at this time of the year. I found some a few weeks back, but once the ground freezes, most fungi don't produce mushrooms. As a general rule we usually say that the mushroom season ends around November 1st.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 56768.45
ETH 2391.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.28