You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Acorns - Why The Bumper Crop This Year

in #nature7 years ago

thanks for your post and the lovely collection of acorns! The old folks here in this now call "Germany" were very aware about the interactions occuring within nature/life.... trying to keep notes about some of those occurances in my yearly "gardening-booklet".... and I consider it such a treat to find out more and more of this "undercovered knowledge".... cheers from Germany!

Sort:  

My Oma & Opa were form Germany and they kept very detailed notebooks. They died when I was young and they rest of the family moved on from their "old ways". Very sadly, I remember them burning all the notebooks along with lots of other paperwork when they were cleaning their house out. How I'd love to have those precious notebooks now.

oh, how much I can relate with that! I have - and treasure - at least the handwriten cooking-book of my husbands great-grandmother.... If there is a thing I can get really sad about, then it's the fakt of all the knowlegde lost.... but I guess some of us are on a good way rediscovering at least some of it! do you know which part of Germany your Oma and Opa came from?

From Amorbach, my maiden name was Bachmann. Thankfully her recipe box was saved. One thing I remember (I was nine when they passed) is how Oma would set out a roast on the counter the night before and cook it the next day. She said it made it tender and oh boy, it was! Today, there'd be an agency called for gross misconduct, haha.

I just wanted to thank you for resteeming my post Recycling Yard Waste: One Community Gets With The Program. I got slapped by a whale right after that, puked ambergris all over me. I owe ya one!

ahhh, you're so lucky there!!! Ment to leave you a comment but was running out of time - just as now- have to get supper set on the table for the kids - but will be back later on!!! hope you get a whale-slap on every single post!!!! Cheers for now

You're the best!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64479.05
ETH 3181.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57