Reel Action Pt 12: Cloudy Day Gold Mine!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #nature7 years ago (edited)

IMG_3110.JPG


Today wasn't the nicest weather but it was awesome fishing. We headed out to our normal spot in the Merrimack River, threw down the anchor and began fishing. Today we were using chunked mackerel & lures. We had almost no luck on the lures but the mackerel were getting devoured. The day started off slow with schoolies (small fish) nibbling at our bait. Until suddenly I slammed a nice 29" striper! We were on a mission to catch a keeper this time around because my girlfriends father has been craving striped bass so we had to get one!


IMG_3112.JPG

Next up Becca got a 28.5" one off the starboard side of the boat (in this case facing the channel). This fish was PISSED it was pulling line like crazy. After a bit of fighting she was able to wear it down and get it into netting territory.


IMG_3111.JPG

I managed to get one more keeper sized fish, the limit is only one fish per person so this one was thrown back!


IMG_3109.JPG

A horrible selfie taken looking into the sun. lol.


IMG_3113.JPG

A well deserved bucket of beer!


reel action.jpg

Sort:  

Nice Catch .. looks like a beautiful day
Too bad about the limit .. they are very tasty
Continued luck

Thank you, yes the limit is strict but hopefully next time we'll get some 40"+

Great Job bro, I am dying to fish lol. I keep looking at my old pictures putting them into albums and its driving crazy with all the memories.

Thank you, I don't know what I would do without fishing, pretty much the only thing I do on my days off.

I would not know what to do on days off either if it was not for fishing. Pretty much what I have done since I was a little kid my entire life. If you ever want to do some awesome Fresh Water Fishing, not sure how far you are from Concord Mass or how good the lake still is, but there is a lake in Concord called Walden Pond. The lake was made famous by Henry David Therau called On Walden Pond. He actually lived there while he wrote the book. The lake is super deep and about 3 miles around. They stock it with tons of Brown and Rainbow Trout and it is loaded with Large Mouth and Small Mouth Bass. It was the only place where I ever liked fresh water fishing and the fish tasted like salt water fish because the water so clean. It was all rock and sand bottom and you could see the bottom at 20+ feet deep.

Damn dude! Yes I'm going to check that our for sure. I'm only thirty or so minutes from there!

That place is amazing, we used to go around the shore and flip the rocks and catch crawfish for bait or bring night crawlers or shiners. But we where always able to catch tons of crawfish. Just lift the rocks and you will see them, then put your hand closer and closer to them slowly until they will go under your hand then grab them. The area is beautiful you can bring your boat but back then they did not allow gas engines, only trolling motors. We used to go in a canoe. We would also catch tons from the shore.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58906.05
ETH 2666.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44