You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The oldest vertebrate in the world is the Greenland shark (Somniosus microcephalus), a giant shark that is potentially over 500 years old

in #nature7 years ago

Woow! Even though I am a fish geek, I did not know that. Do you know why Greenland sharks get so old?

Sort:  

Because greenlandic food is super healthy.

No, but it's a really good questions to ask, @janusface! I tried to see if I could find out anything about the reason why they live so long, but it looks like there just isn't any research about it yet. This study that determined their longevity was released just last year, so I bet someone is currently working on a project to figure out why, and maybe even more interestingly, how.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64411.29
ETH 3516.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55