How To Hunt Morel Mushrooms In The Spring!

in #nature8 years ago (edited)

How To Hunt Morel Mushrooms In The Spring

In the spring time is when it all starts to happen. Flowers are blooming. Trees are budding and crappie are spawning. This is prime time to start looking for the morel mushrooms. I get really excited to go and get some. So when the time is good I grab a potato sack and off I go. The reason I use a potato sack is so when I pick them the spores fall out onto the ground. Then there is a good chance they will grow back next year. When you are looking for morel mushrooms they can be hard to find. But when you find one you will start finding more.

Good Area To Look For Morel Mushrooms

I like to get in the woods around these type of trees. The poplar,sycamore,elm and ash trees. I seem to find more around the sycamore trees myself. Start looking on the south side of the hill first. Because the ground gets more sun light. Then on into the spring you will find them on the north side of the hill. This side of the hill will have more sunlight.

Poplar Tree Bark

Sycamore Tree Bark

Elm Tree Bark

Ash Tree Bark

How To Hunt Morel Mushrooms

So now you have a good idea on how to find morel mushrooms. Maybe this spring you can go and find you some. They are very good to eat. I will be posting how to fry morel mushrooms very soon. I hope you liked this little how to post. On How To Hunt Morel Mushrooms In The Spring! Thank you!

Sort:  

I'm tagging this with the #foraging tag, because your post is about foraging for some great wild mushrooms. If you add the Foraging tag to your posts, it will be easier for me to find it and consider it for the SteemTrail @foraging-trail curation. You can find out more here and here.

In particular, for the @foraging-trail to upvote your foraging posts, we need to confirm the images are yours. If you’re using images, quotes, or copied information from another source, cite those sources accordingly. If you use your own imagery, please let us know by adding a sentence in your post saying so. Thanks - and happy foraging!

I put the tag in my post. Thank you for your help!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56690.25
ETH 2380.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33