How to identify the Common Buckthorn

in #nature7 years ago

Common Buckthorn
(Rhamnus cathartica)

image

The Common Btckthorn is a small to medium sized tree that was originally brought to the United States from Europe and Asia. People used it for ornimental purposes and it's considered an invasive species. It will grow anywhere's in the upper section of North America. It really doesn't have any uses because of the chemicals that it produces and other than birds, nothing will eat the berries.

image

Here's a good look at the leaves and blooms. The leaves have a serrated edge. The blooms will turn into berries and when they are totally ripe they turn almost black when the seed inside is fully formed.

image

This is what the bark of the Common Buckthorn. It does look like a cherry tree bark when it is young.

If you would like to know more about the Common Burkthorn take a look at the link below.

https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Rhamnus_cathartica

I hope you like the picture I shared. Please leave a comment below if you've ever seen the Common Buckthorne. I would appreciate an upvote and follow along with me too. Check out my other blog posts and you can find other species in there as well. Thanks for reading.

Sort:  

Good addition to the blockchain!

Thank you very much.

I don't think I have ever seen it. The berries look very attractive :)

These are the blooms before the berries. The berries will be almost black when they are fully ripe, which will be later this summer to early fall. You can find them in hedgerows and along edges of the woods and sometimes in openings of the woods. It reminds me of small cherry saplings but these have different leaves.

Yes, I googled the berries. Was curious how they look. And by the look of them and the flowers... I don't think we have it.

Ya hopefully you don't have it around there. It darn near takes everything over and spreads pretty quickly. So you really don't need it if you know what I mean. The upside of any plant like this is it adds greenery to the neighborhood.

I believe there are a couple growing by me. Hmmm.. thanks for teaching us something new!

Your welcome. I had to look it up to know what it was muself and thought it was worth sharing. I have more on here if you'd like to compare other plants and trees that surround you.

If you have something you would like me to identify, snap a couple of good pictures and I would be happy to identify them and make a post if you would like?

Of course! Thank you for the help!

Nice pictures, following you now :

Thank you very much.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64377.96
ETH 3500.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52