Pressed Flowers Again!

in #nature4 years ago

I pressed flowers again today!

I am experimenting on which flowers retain color and shape in long term.

asdasdasdasd.jpg

I picked two warm colored flowers outdoors. and I laid them one by one and flattened their petals so it wont fold wrong.

This is how flower hunting went.

pressed roses.jpg
I also have roses!
Our roses are blooming again as it does every few weeks. I thought it would really be nice to press them to preserve them and keep their memory alive in good ways.


These are the flowers I took.

What to do with pressed flowers?

Pressed flowers must be pressed when dry to avoid discoloration. For now there are only two ways I know.

(1) making a collage and framing them which is what we did previously.

(2) Making resin jewelry
I bought this from a nearby shop which makes custom resin designs with dried flowers.
They are pieces of nature you can keep with you. I absolutely think they're stunning and affordable. It is also a good activity for recreation. So if I master flower pressing I may learn to create resin works.

Hearts with petals and thorns to replicate the design of the Sacred Heart and Immaculate Heart of Mary.

Here's me with my memento Mori sunflower necklace

Our neighbor gave us sunflower seeds so I planted them and they are growing. I will also try to dry these and see!


Our roses

These two roses were a part of the first batch of what I pressed. They became white and yellowish and lost their pink color but the leaves and flowers are still intact.
I'm looking forward to the result! hopefully I will be able to get better results than last time. My first batch of pressed flowers resulted in discoloration because I pressed them when they were still a bit wet. Now they are all surely dry.

That's all! Thank you for viewing!

+ JMJ + AMDG +

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62559.43
ETH 3092.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86