You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Mississippi's best hiking: backpacking in Noxubee Hills

in #nature6 years ago

Looked like a pretty good little hike. It's nice you gave coordinates for others to follow if they desire.

Loving the sunrise pictures, by the way.

Did you go alone? I would be scared of the alligators getting me in my sleep.

Sort:  

Yeah, these days GPS coordinates are much more useful and brief than other forms of directions. Just plug the coordinates into your navigation system and press GO! I got the coordinates based on the EXIF metadata from my trailhead photos. Fingers crossed that it's accurate.

I did go alone. Once you get over the fear, hiking alone is nice as it's great and efficient to be entirely on your own schedule. I don't know much about protecting oneself from gators, but I'd imagine it's best not to camp or eat next to a bog.

I agree with that, sometimes you get direction on community boards telling you where to go and the direction could be something like: "Go straight 500m until you pass a massive rock, then go left and take the right-most trail head after you pass the big coniferous tree.

GPS coordinates are a miraculous thing.

I would really like to do a solo trek one day. I feel that being alone with one's thoughts and the utter serenity of the outdoors would be extremely beneficial for your well being. But I'll just stick to my Canadian wilderness where the gators can't go. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 67130.22
ETH 3466.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.73